BLAG
http://forums.blagblagblag.org/

1000&distupgrade
http://forums.blagblagblag.org/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=373
Page 1 of 4

Author:  mbjbdc [ Sat Sep 11, 2004 11:36 pm ]
Post subject:  1000&distupgrade

installed blag1000 &ran blag smart dist-upgrade none i get blank login screen
should i avoid dist-upgrade in synaptic
david

Author:  jebba [ Sun Sep 12, 2004 1:39 am ]
Post subject: 

I usually use the command line, but synaptic should work ok.

Author:  slick50 [ Sun Sep 12, 2004 3:18 am ]
Post subject: 

update is wacked I upgraded and bam no fonts, what the f*&^%k! is going on! :evil:
I go in root everything fine In user wacked,did a reinstall same thing ouch!

Author:  jebba [ Sun Sep 12, 2004 3:26 am ]
Post subject: 

OK. Lemme look what's going on. I haven't added anything new except the latest Fedora Updates.

Can you give me some hints?

When was the last time you updated? Which new packages did you get?

Are you running the stock gnome?

Did it happen after you rebooted? Immediately? After logging out?

There's a new kudzu, did it find anything new after reboot?

Gimme some info! :)

-Jeff

Author:  jebba [ Sun Sep 12, 2004 3:38 am ]
Post subject: 

I yanked the most recent kudzu-* and imlib-* since they are the only things added recently that would seem to even touch on the issues you see.

Author:  slick50 [ Sun Sep 12, 2004 3:39 am ]
Post subject: 

Don't know the package but i tried to unistall several did have any luck so I reinstalled and same thing formated default install soon as i used gui updater smart dist upgrade went to sh-t!

Author:  jebba [ Sun Sep 12, 2004 3:48 am ]
Post subject: 

slick50 wrote:
Don't know the package but i tried to unistall several did have any luck so I reinstalled and same thing formated default install soon as i used gui updater smart dist upgrade went to sh-t!


When was the last time you updated previous to this? I'm trying to figure out which new package jacked things...

-Jeff

Author:  slick50 [ Sun Sep 12, 2004 3:50 am ]
Post subject: 

uninstalled the ones you mention same thing :?:

Author:  jebba [ Sun Sep 12, 2004 4:21 am ]
Post subject: 

slick50 wrote:
uninstalled the ones you mention same thing :?:


Ok, but when they were installed they may have done some voodoo. Basically, the only thing that has changed in the last week or so is some new packages from Fedora.

Problems like this cause me great anxiety... Please answer any of the above questions that you can so I can track this down. Please. Pretty please? Especially important is when the last time you sucessfully dist-upgraded so I can narrow it down.

Thanks,

-Jeff

Author:  jebba [ Sun Sep 12, 2004 4:45 am ]
Post subject: 

Also, do you have any other repositories enabled?

Are you sure your disk isn't full?

Code:
df -h

Author:  jebba [ Sun Sep 12, 2004 5:17 am ]
Post subject: 

OK, I did:

1) removed imlib-* & kudzu (recent updates from fedora) from the archvie
2) did a fresh 10k install
3) dist-upgraded with synaptic
4) rebooted & everything was fine
5) re-added imlib & kudzu back to the archive
6) ran synaptic and got the new updates
7) rebooted & everything is fine.

I can't reproduce it.

NEEDINFO

Author:  mbjbdc [ Sun Sep 12, 2004 1:16 pm ]
Post subject:  re:dist-upgrade

the only repos i used were the ones enabled during install
i have a 60gig harddrive with only blag installed
here is what i did installed blag from disk
then i ran dist-upgrade before installing anything else.
restarted computer at login screen nothing but a backround screen
i will post after i reinstall
dave

Author:  slick50 [ Sun Sep 12, 2004 2:55 pm ]
Post subject: 

Jebba, I did a complete format default install didn't change any setting in user I went to synmatic didn't change the repositories did smart upgrade and took a chance on update and
soon as I updated, Lost All Text only icons? Hope to get this one figured out? I thought it was me cause I like to tinker around alot :D

Author:  arrowhead [ Sun Sep 12, 2004 11:24 pm ]
Post subject: 

This sounds like the problem I was having, http://forums.blagblagblag.org/viewtopic.php?t=284
and after reading kelstertx comments about changing the screen resolution I am sure I had fiddled with the resolution at some point.

slick 50, are your screen settings for your normal user account and your root account the same?

Could this be a hardware issue rather than a software issue? I am using a nvidia fx5200 graphics card and a c**p 17" monitor which doesn't get auto detected.

David

Author:  slick50 [ Sun Sep 12, 2004 11:37 pm ]
Post subject: 

I am running the same hardware since 10000 came out nothing changed Im using a fresh install and I dont dare upgrade till this issue is resolved reinstalled 3 times !!! This os is fine now (As long as I don't update) No problems ... nivida gforce 4mx (generic), 19" Envision
monitor so I think is a jacked up program? :)

Page 1 of 4 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/