BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Mon May 25, 2015 5:36 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2004 6:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 12:02 pm
Posts: 53
Location: North West England
Hi shabene,
I am new to linux myself but I have my system setup very similar to what you want. I mounted my "shared partition" in BLAG 10k following these simple instructions in the RedHat docs,
http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/linu ... ndows.html
You have to use a console rather than x but if I can do it anyone can :)

David


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 1:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 1:51 pm
Posts: 125
Location: Bronx,NY
I think there's a section about that in the BLAG wiki. http://wiki.blagblagblag.org/Mounting_Windows_Drives

Oh you wanted to change the owner of the disk. just click on the mounted winbloz folder and click properties and change root to your username.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 8:00 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
You need to add something to your /etc/fstab to have it mounted as the user logged in. This is what the cdrom does, more or less. Perhaps something like:

Code:
/dev/hdc1       /windozsucks         vfat rw,user,noauto 0 0


Then you can right click on the desktop to mount it, or use Disk Management under System Tools in the menu. Also, you can try the word "owner" instead of "user" above.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 9:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 1:51 pm
Posts: 125
Location: Bronx,NY
jebba wrote:
You need to add something to your /etc/fstab to have it mounted as the user logged in. This is what the cdrom does, more or less. Perhaps something like:

Code:
/dev/hdc1       /windozsucks         vfat rw,user,noauto 0 0


Then you can right click on the desktop to mount it, or use Disk Management under System Tools in the menu. Also, you can try the word "owner" instead of "user" above.


Ok i had better success with the vfat thing. instead of 0 0 at the end,put 1 2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 9:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Yes, it should be "1 2" instead of "0 0". My bad.

Here's a basic one that allows reading by all but writing only by root:
Code:
/dev/hda7        /win       vfat    defaults        1 2


Don't worry about the spacing, just make it look pretty.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 9:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
You never really need to reboot unless you upgrade your kernel. ;)

But rebooting is often an easy way to get things restarted if you're not sure how to do in manually. To unmount/remount that drive, do:

Code:
umount /win
mount /win


Note that is "umount" not "unmount". Been that way for quite awhile... Change "/win" to whatever directory you are mounting it under (e.g. /mnt/windows or whatever).

To mount everything in your fstab, you can run:
Code:
mount -a


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 10:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
shabene wrote:
well i have the use of the drive back but i am back to square one, ie as in my post...

Good. You know how to get back to square one. Very necessary sometimes. ;)

shabene wrote:
as a user i can read the drive but not write to it, as root user i may read and write, as root i have access to the right click menu to change permissions, but as i click the box to change the permission to "group write" the x just fades away instantly, if i try to change the file owner i am told "sorry couldnt change the owner" and if i try to change the file group it says "you don't have permission to change the group" i must stress i am logged on as root and not just with a console open.


Ok. How's this:
1) log in as a regular user
2) open a terminal as root
Code:
umount /win

3)Change you /etc/fstab line to:
Code:
/dev/hda7        /win       vfat rw,user,noauto 1 2

4) As the regular user, run "Disk Management" under "System Tools"
5) Select the windos drive and hit "Mount"
6) Play wid it
7) In Disk Management unmount it when you are done (if you want)

shabene wrote:
oh how i wish i knew what i was doing, as in 1? 2?

It's the mounting order. It's the last two items in the /etc/fstab lines.

shabene wrote:
i should read more i guess


Code:
man fstab
man mount


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 11:03 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Let me know if this works by the way. It's off the top of my head as I don't have any vfat.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004 11:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 4:45 pm
Posts: 621
Location: London
I can access my fat drive as any user in any OS. Here is the relevant section from my /etc/stab.

Quote:
/dev/hdb5 /mnt/data vfat auto,rw,umask=000 0 0


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group