BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 3:52 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Evaluation
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 6:07 pm 
I gave BLAG a try.
Overall, it is very good.
Impressive looking.
Great collection of packages.

Here are my faults with Blag:

Install:
On install, Blag detected a previous install of RH 9.0 and I had the option of upgrading. I tried this twice. Each time, it starting going through the motions but then would have a problem with trying to access some file (i know, i should have written the file name down).

OK, I rebooted off the CD again. This time I chose a new install to overwrite the RH 9.0 install. Everything installed perfectly (I repeated this with different install options 'desktop', server', etc. Actual install takes about 10 - 20 minutes depending upon the options chosen.

After I logged in as a regular user, I tried Kino. No luck. Modules not loaded.

as root I had to # modprobe raw1394 and # modprobe video1394.
Ok, the modules loaded so I added them to /etc/modules
Ok, then Kino worked as root, but not a regular user. So I did the chown, chmod routine & then It worked as a regular user.

I tried using my modem. No gnome-ppp. No graphical dialer (that I have found).
OK, I found wvdial. Ill try that. Worked as root, but not as a regular user. Back to the chown, chmod routine.

These are the ONLY problems I had with Blag.


-BoB


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 6:33 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Thanks for your feedback.

For upgrading over an existing RH9 install, it probably croaked because the CD doesn't have everything needed that RH9 might want. For instance, if you had glibc-devel installed, and it tried to upgrade glibc, the glibc-devel dependency would complain.

One way to upgrade an existing RH9 install is to do it via apt-get. Download BLAG's apt RPM, install it. Then:
apt-get update
apt-get dist-upgrade

Then
apt-get install [packages you want]

Another way to install over an existing RH9 is to do it from the DVD (see developers section on the website). Note the DVD is for "developers"--you sound like you know what's up. http://www.blagblagblag.org/developers/

It makes sense to me that you had to modprobe video1394. Not sure how to get around that at this point. I'll see if I can get it fixed upstream.

As for kino having to run as root, I'm not quite sure. You were able to run the application fine, ya? Was it you just couldn't access firewire or something?

I assume you chowned something in /dev. If so, can you let me know what files you chowned? Basically, if they get added to /etc/security/console.perms, they automajickally get chowned to the user that owns the console.

Cool that you're up & running with kino. :)

I bugzilla'd Fedora about the serial port ownership yesterday. I can do it for whatever /dev's you needed to. They'll hopefully get the ownership of the serial ports fixed in Fedora Core 2.
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/bugzilla/sh ... ?id=120021

There is some graphical dialing action in
Menu->System Tools-Network Device Control

A number of people have griped about the crappy modem GUI stuff though. I'll check out gnome-ppp.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 6:47 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Hmm. Looks like gnome-ppp is ancient-ware. I don't see a new replacement for it. Know of any other substitutes? Lots of the other GUI dialers look unmaintained. I did a quick hunt through freshmeat and nothing looks too tasty.

kppp is nice, but I don't have space to include KDE on the CD.

Let me know what you think of Network Device Control. It may suck less in FC1...in FC2 its probably pretty nice as Gnome 2.6 looks pretty hot in general.

Thanks,

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 5:16 am 
Kppp is the best modem dialer out there that I know of. Otherwise the only other good way is to use the activate option in the network config.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: ppp Dialer
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 1:26 pm 
Thanks jebba,

Quote:
As for kino having to run as root, I'm not quite sure. You were able to run the application fine, ya? Was it you just couldn't access firewire or something?

Right. As a regular user I had no access to firewire.
I did:
added group video and
# chown root:video /dev/video1394
~~~~~~~~~~~
I found some very lightweight ppp dialers here:
gppp-wvdial (front end to Wvdial)
http://software.freshmeat.net/projects/gppp-wvdial/
x-wvdial
http://www.lika.de/open/x-wvdial/
gppp (still pre-alpha)
http://sourceforge.net/projects/gppp/
gtkdial (another front end to wvdial)
http://sourceforge.net/projects/gtkdial/
gkdialer
http://software.freshmeat.net/projects/gkdial/
gpppwrap
http://software.freshmeat.net/projects/gpppwrap/
chesnut dialer (python)
http://chestnut-dialer.sourceforge.net/

I skipped all the Qt based dialers. I like the idea of a front end to wvdial, as it is already installed.


-BoB


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 4:06 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Thanks for the list of potential dialers.

I generally only want to include stuff that is still maintained.
gppp-wvdial = untouched since 2002
x-wvdial = untouched, looks quite alpha
gppp = pre-alpha
gppp-wrap = umm, maybe. Kinda looks like a one-off
gtkdial = untouched since 2002
gkdial = untouched since 2001
chestnet = looks quite alpha

Hmm. I don't mean to just be a downer on all of them, as I'd really like something along the lines of kppp. But I also don't want to include some GUI dialer that should work, but just causes it's own bunch of problems.

Have you used any of the above? Also, have you tried the Network Device Control yet?

As for chown/chmodding /dev/video* I don't quite see what it was necessary as it should be owned to the console owner when you log in. Are you in runlevel 5 (GUI login)?

Thanks,

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 2:46 am 
jebba,

You are Right.
The network device control works perfectly OK.
I just wasn't aware of it when I started up Blag for the first time.
The first place I looked was in the submenu 'internet' and I looked through various other submenus of the launcher.
Maybe a link could be put in 'internet' in the default menu.

Everything seems to run very smooth. Kino works great grabbing video from my firewire card. Palm pilot, digital camera, media card reader all are working. Much less hassles setting up external devices than any other disto. Hey, it makes me want to go out and buy a bunch more gadgets to try and see if they work. :D
Very friendly looking too.
I should explain that I have been using Debian for the last 2 or 3 years, so it has been a while since I have used Mandrake, Turbolinux,Redhat, and Slackware. So I am bumping into some of the furnature that has been rearrainged.

Nice to see Nedit here too.
Thanks,

-BoB


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 2:53 am 
Quote:
Basically, if they get added to /etc/security/console.perms, they automajickally get chowned to the user that owns the console.


This is something I was unaware of. But at the time, I think I was logged into X as a regular user and on tty1 & 2 as root if that makes a difference.

I'll have to go Read The Fine Manual.

-BoB


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 8:04 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Ahh, yes. It could be that the console was owned by root. If you had only been logged in as a regular user in runlevel 5, or a regular user had console access, /dev/video would have been owned by that user. Logging in as root on the console may have changed that ownership. So you probably didn't need to chown/chmod those devices to get kino working. You probably needed to modprobe though...

It's pam stuff.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group