BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 10:22 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2004 11:47 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
This code was suggested in the other thread and I saw it on RH's mailing list:

Code:
chmod a+r /etc/pango/i386-redhat-linux-gnu/pango.modules


I thought that was fixed by now, but those of you with messed boxes try it and let me know.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 2:42 am
Posts: 223
Location: Charleston, SC USA
WoW, I did a apt-get this time and everythings fine Didn,t use the gui Man I,m sailing again..
Bug in gui? Thanks, Jebba :lol: (Also worked in my other machine)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2004 6:19 pm 
You know maybe installing the updated drivers from nvidia website would have helped. I mean, sometimes there are problems with the generic drivers.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 6:49 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
slick50 wrote:
WoW, I did a apt-get this time and everythings fine Didn,t use the gui Man I,m sailing again..
Bug in gui?


Hmm. If we can pinpoint what's causing it and that it really is with synaptic, i'm sure the developers of that would be happy to know about it. I think we need some more info first before we submit it to them though.

Thanks,

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2004 4:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 8:55 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Alabama, USA
I'm sorry I haven't posted earlier. Little hurricane ivan had me kinda powerless.

I think this problem may be a gnome problem not just a blag/fedora problem. While I was trying other distros I gave Suse a go. I did a complete update through YaST, when it was complete and I logged out and back in All of my text was so small I could barely even see it. If I remember correctly if I logged in as root eveything was fine.
To fix it I had to change something in the gnome config file. I will try to post when I find the info again.

Maybe this will help us find the problem :D

_________________
Crane


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 5:45 am 
Hi guess what, I now am having the same problem. I just installed Blag 10000 on a pentium II 350mhz computer and after running system update all my text is gone. I have never run into this problem before but I guess there is a first for everything. I ran the smart disk upgrade option and near the end of installing the packages there was an error. I cannot remember the exact name of the package but I remember is started with vim-something rpm. Don't know if that helps any. I am going to reinstall and try smart disk upgrade again just to make sure it wasn't because I did something weird.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 7:17 am 
Ok, I just did a complete install and I now have the same problem. After running update in synaptic all my text dissapears. Also, the package that caused an error during upgrade was vim-minimal. Not sure if this is causing my text to dissapear or not.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 7:18 pm 
Was there anything updated in the repository recently? The only reason I ask is because I ran system update in synaptic a week ago and I had no problems. So something must have been changed in the past week to make my system go all buggy.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 9:48 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Chris wrote:
Was there anything updated in the repository recently? The only reason I ask is because I ran system update in synaptic a week ago and I had no problems. So something must have been changed in the past week to make my system go all buggy.


Ok. The vim- thing is just a warning that some file was backed up. Not relevant.

Here's the updates for September:
Sep 1 21:58 mc-4.6.0-17.fc1.i386.rpm
Sep 1 22:17 samba-3.0.6-2.FC1.i386.rpm
Sep 1 22:17 samba-common-3.0.6-2.FC1.i386.rpm
Sep 1 22:17 samba-client-3.0.6-2.FC1.i386.rpm
Sep 1 22:18 samba-swat-3.0.6-2.FC1.i386.rpm
Sep 7 14:02 kdelibs-3.1.4-7.i386.rpm
Sep 7 14:02 kdelibs-devel-3.1.4-7.i386.rpm
Sep 7 14:04 kdebase-3.1.4-7.i386.rpm
Sep 7 14:04 kdebase-devel-3.1.4-7.i386.rpm
Sep 7 14:22 lha-1.14i-12.2.i386.rpm
Sep 7 16:55 kudzu-1.1.36.3-1.i386.rpm
Sep 7 16:55 kudzu-devel-1.1.36.3-1.i386.rpm
Sep 8 17:35 cdda2wav-2.01-0.a19.2.FC1.1.i386.rpm
Sep 8 17:35 cdrecord-devel-2.01-0.a19.2.FC1.1.i386.rpm
Sep 8 17:35 cdrecord-2.01-0.a19.2.FC1.1.i386.rpm
Sep 8 17:35 mkisofs-2.01-0.a19.2.FC1.1.i386.rpm
Sep 9 20:01 imlib-1.9.13-15.fc1.i386.rpm
Sep 9 20:01 imlib-cfgeditor-1.9.13-15.fc1.i386.rpm
Sep 9 20:01 imlib-devel-1.9.13-15.fc1.i386.rpm
Sep 13 21:09 samba-client-3.0.7-2.FC1.i386.rpm
Sep 13 21:09 samba-3.0.7-2.FC1.i386.rpm
Sep 13 21:09 samba-common-3.0.7-2.FC1.i386.rpm
Sep 13 21:10 samba-swat-3.0.7-2.FC1.i386.rpm
Sep 15 16:38 gdk-pixbuf-0.22.0-11.2.2.i386.rpm
Sep 15 16:38 gdk-pixbuf-gnome-0.22.0-11.2.2.i386.rpm
Sep 15 16:38 gdk-pixbuf-devel-0.22.0-11.2.2.i386.rpm
Sep 15 16:39 gtk2-2.2.4-10.i386.rpm
Sep 15 16:39 gtk2-devel-2.2.4-10.i386.rpm
Sep 15 21:10 apr-util-devel-0.9.4-2.1.i386.rpm
Sep 15 21:10 apr-util-0.9.4-2.1.i386.rpm
Sep 16 05:33 gdk-pixbuf-gnome-0.22.0-11.3.4.i386.rpm
Sep 16 05:33 gdk-pixbuf-devel-0.22.0-11.3.4.i386.rpm
Sep 16 05:33 gdk-pixbuf-0.22.0-11.3.4.i386.rpm


I haven't been able to reproduce this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 9:55 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
http://bugzilla.blagblagblag.org/show_bug.cgi?id=374

For those of you that can reproduce this issue can you do a test for me? Try updating with apt-get instead of synatpic to see if somehow synaptic is mucking things up. I realize it's a bit of a pain to do this test, but it's really needed. :)

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get dist-upgrade


Thanks,

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2004 10:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 8:55 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Alabama, USA
apt-get updates OK.

When I installed blag a few weeks ago I got it installed and then did apt-get update and apt-get upgrade. No problems all was well.

A few days ago I installed Blag on a spare PC of mine I am not real familiar with synatpic (always used yum or apt) so I though what the heck. Clicked "update-System" and then "apply" All seem to do well but when I logged out and back in All my text was practicaly gone. The font was so small it was impossible to see.

I mentioned that I thought it was a gnome problems and not a Blag/Fedora/Redhat problem because I had the exact same thing happen when I updated a Suse box with YaST.

I have tried to find the fix that I found the first time but I have not been successful as of yet. It was something to do with a .gconf ot one of the .gnome files.

I'll post as soon as I find it again.

_________________
Crane


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 12:55 am 
Well, like I said before I ran system update with synaptic a week ago and I had no problems but now I do. Anyways, I am now reinstalling to see what happens when I run apt get instead of synaptic for the update. I will write back in a bit to tell you what happens.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 2:01 am 
I am trying to run aptget but typing apt-get update in terminal doesn't do anything. Do I have the command wrong?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 3:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 8:55 pm
Posts: 27
Location: Alabama, USA
Joe wrote:
I am trying to run aptget but typing apt-get update in terminal doesn't do anything. Do I have the command wrong?


What kind of error is it giving?

You also have to be root or super user to run apt-get :D

_________________
Crane


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 3:51 am 
Ok after reinstalling blag 10000 twice and having problems after running system upgrade in synaptic I now ran apt-get for my third try. Apt-get installed everything fine with no problems. I can still read all my text :) Also, I did not receive any error during install like I did before with the vim error I had. It is odd to think that it is a synaptic bug cause I used synaptic a week ago to upgrade and I had no problems. Was there a new release of synaptic added recently?


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group