BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 9:43 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004 3:18 am 
Hello Everyblagers!!!!

I have successfully installed Blag10K in an IBM 600E but the problem is there is no sound. Before Blag I have installed Knoppix in this machine, and I have to issue these commands in a terminal to make the sound work

insmod sound
insmod ad1848
insmod uart401
insmod cs4232 io=0x530 irq=5 dma=1 dma2=0 mpuio=0x330 mpuirq=9

but I gues this doesn't work on blag, I tried the redhat-config-soundcard but it reports "no sound device ... " or something similar. I have also tried the sndconfig command it was able to detect a PCI ... I forgot the exact msg. but it say it does not support the soundcard it finds.

Can somebody help me pls... I don't exactly know the type of soundcard installed in the machine... I was hoping the code for knoppix could help. Also where or what is the config file I have to look for when looking for configurations such as these?

Thanks alot.... AND MORE POWER


JBarry


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004 7:38 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
You can find out more about your soundcard with:

Code:
lspci
lshw


You can also try the ALSA drivers...

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004 2:38 pm 
Hello jebba

I tried the lspci and lshw and found alot about my machine. Unfortunately the modules for the device (CS 4610/11) is i think not installed. it issues a modprobe error for the cs46xx.o:init_module: no such device

Anyway i read the man pages for the sndconfig and found out that it can be given a --noprobe parameter.

So i experimented with the different devices and found a compatible driver.

Code:
Acer Notebook Sound
I/O Port =0x220 IRQ=5 DMA=1 MPU I/O=0x330


So i have my sound now, :lol:

what do i need to do to enable the correct driver? ( not that i'm complaining with the current setup it's just that i wish to learn)

thanks a lot for the time and effort in helping me

jbarry


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004 7:45 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
OK, To have it load on boot, just add it to /etc/modules.conf


Nice one :)

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 11:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 11:03 am
Posts: 48
Location: Linuxville GNULAND
Also TP600e user, mine works with BLAG10000 with OSS drivers (cs4232) that I configure on install with sndconfig --noprobe and just modifying DMA1 as 1 and Last IRQ as 9.
You have to install a script wich is documented on IBM site or I can send it by mail.
All sound is clear and works in input/output.

The first step is to disable quickstart in the bios to allows Linux to find his IRQs without a MS microcode.
On SUSE site they propose to emulate a Soundblaster card, it works too but with a less sound quality.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group