BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Tue Dec 23, 2014 3:49 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2007 4:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:32 pm
Posts: 27
Hey,

I stumbled upon thiswhen I was looking for an easy way to setup a server under linux with mysql and php.

It's an easy webserver that took me about 5minutes to have it running (download time included). On the xampp site there's a good installation guide. (Also read the security part!)

I know that's setting up mysql, apache+php4,5 works just a good or even better, but when you just want to do some php development this is just great!

Just wanted to share this in case someone was looking for something like this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:41 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
I can do that in one line! ;)

Code:
apt-get install httpd mysql-server php


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 10:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:32 pm
Posts: 27
jebba wrote:
I can do that in one line! ;)

Code:
apt-get install httpd mysql-server php


And that give's you a fully functional server? Then it realy is quicker :-D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 1:44 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
NeoNecro wrote:
jebba wrote:
I can do that in one line! ;)

Code:
apt-get install httpd mysql-server php


And that give's you a fully functional server? Then it realy is quicker :-D


Yes, it gives you a fully functional server once you reboot. Or you can start them immediately with:

Code:
/etc/init.d/mysqld start
/etc/init.d/httpd start


Pop your html/php files into /var/www/html

Config stuff for apache if you want to make changes is in /etc/httpd/

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 3:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 1:32 pm
Posts: 27
So, php and stuff will just work out of the box?

Thanks for the tip, I will try it later today. It's probably better than xampp, because you get easy updates.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 4:11 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
NeoNecro wrote:
So, php and stuff will just work out of the box?


Yes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
NeoNecro wrote:
So, php and stuff will just work out of the box?


In general, yes. Some PHP stuff could require some tinkering. Making PHP administer Postgresql for instance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 7:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 6:44 am
Posts: 14
I have to admit I am interested. Any ideas on the following:

I set apache and mysql up as processes:

[tim@brag cms]$ ps -e | grep htt
2835 ? 00:00:00 httpd
2837 ? 00:00:00 httpd
2838 ? 00:00:00 httpd
2839 ? 00:00:00 httpd
2840 ? 00:00:00 httpd
2841 ? 00:00:00 httpd
2842 ? 00:00:00 httpd
2843 ? 00:00:00 httpd
2844 ? 00:00:00 httpd
[tim@brag cms]$ ps -e | grep mys
2772 pts/1 00:00:00 mysqld_safe
2808 pts/1 00:00:36 mysqld

and then I downloaded the relevant files for a product called "cms made simple". I have used cms before but on a server with all the relevant tools installed.

When I try to access the index.php file (as per the instructions) on my system, firefox simply tries to open the file via an editor rather than rendering the install screen.

So, I guess I need to link apache/mysql/php together and to the web browser. Any suggestions on how to do this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 8:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Did you:

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install php php-mysql


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 10:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 6:44 am
Posts: 14
I think I had all the relevant tools installed but previously the files were sitting in my home directory. Trawling round the net I gather they should be in /var/www/html Does this sound right?

so the file I want to access is /var/www/html/cms/index.php, what do I enter at the browser prompt?

I have tried various permutations of http://localhost/cms/index.php with no joy


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 1:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
You would go to http://localhost/cms/index.php

The firewall may still be running. So you could make it to allow that port or just turn it off:

Code:
/etc/init.d/iptables stop


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2007 8:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 6:44 am
Posts: 14
got there. It took a bit of time but I am going now. A few things I noted:

if you don't use /var/www/html to store the scripts then you have to know what you are doing
open up www/html access in the firewall
set protections correctly for index.php (eg. 777)

the last one was an obvious one which wasn't too obvious to me.

Thanks all


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 10:41 pm
Posts: 92
Location: Mesoamerica
jebba wrote:
Code:
/etc/init.d/mysqld start
/etc/init.d/httpd start

Pop your html/php files into /var/www/html


and how to make run the localhost when BLAG starts?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 02, 2008 5:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
v0 wrote:
jebba wrote:
Code:
/etc/init.d/mysqld start
/etc/init.d/httpd start

Pop your html/php files into /var/www/html


and how to make run the localhost when BLAG starts?


If I understand correctly:

Code:
/sbin/chkconfig --add mysqld
/sbin/chkconfig --add httpd


But sometimes that seems to get overwritten on updates, so perhaps also run:

Code:
/sbin/chkconfig --level 35 mysqld on
/sbin/chkconfig --level 35 httpd on


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 1:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 10:41 pm
Posts: 92
Location: Mesoamerica
yeah, it works :) thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group