BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:06 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:16 pm
Posts: 56
Hello!

Even if that's my first post on this forum I'm not a newbie in the GNU/Linux world (I have just experienced two years with Gentoo). I have recently installed two BLAG GNU/Linux: one on my new laptop and another on my mother's desktop.

Because of the French administration, the Web site where to declare taxes needs Java (moreover, any piece of information on this site is made for IE users...). Obviously the plugin provided with gcj is not good enough for this site (but maybe I should attempt again). So I tried to install the JRE from Sun. Since the next version will be GPLed, I am quite OK with that. I first removed everything related to java (including gcj), installed the JRE from Sun in /usr/java and made the following symbolic links:
Code:
# ln -fs /usr/java/latest/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/
# ln -fs /usr/java/latest/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so /usr/lib/firefox-1.5.0.12/plugins/


When I run Firefox and type "about:plugins" in the adress bar, I do have this section:
Code:
Java(TM) Plug-in 1.6.0_01-b06

    Nom de fichier : libjavaplugin_oji.so
    Java(TM) Plug-in 1.6.0_01

Type MIME    Description    Suffixes    Autorisé
application/x-java-vm    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet;version=1.1    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet;version=1.1.1    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet;version=1.1.2    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet;version=1.1.3    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet;version=1.2    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet;version=1.2.1    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet;version=1.2.2    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet;version=1.3    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet;version=1.3.1    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet;version=1.4    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet;version=1.4.1    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet;version=1.4.2    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet;version=1.5    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet;version=1.6    Java       Oui
application/x-java-applet;jpi-version=1.6.0_01    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean;version=1.1    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean;version=1.1.1    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean;version=1.1.2    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean;version=1.1.3    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean;version=1.2    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean;version=1.2.1    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean;version=1.2.2    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean;version=1.3    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean;version=1.3.1    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean;version=1.4    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean;version=1.4.1    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean;version=1.4.2    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean;version=1.5    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean;version=1.6    Java       Oui
application/x-java-bean;jpi-version=1.6.0_01    Java       Oui


Therefore everything should be installed correctly... but it does not work. Any space normally filled with an applet are blank. Nothing, not even a red cross. Just a white space to the dimensions of the applet.

My mother starts to miss the Ubuntu system she was previously running... Any idea on how to fix this issue? Alternatively, have you succeeded in running the plugin using gcj (I didn't try hard because I thought it should work directly)?

EDIT: Executing firefox from the command does not give any hint (no warning when visiting a page hosting an applet)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 9:54 pm
Posts: 193
Magic Banana
Post a link to the site that's giving you problem and we will try to sort the problem.
You look to have install java correctly so it could be some other missing link.

_________________
If it hurts it's because you're alive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 9:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:16 pm
Posts: 56
Actually I am not allowed to post URL's! -> "You must have 3 posts before you can post URL's/Links." Sorry for the inconveniance. Maybe a rule to be removed by the administrator of the forum...

It looks like any site containing an applet constitute a problem! For instance when verifying my installation on the java website, I obtain a white space instead of the applet (the Dancing Duke).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 10:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:16 pm
Posts: 56
A useless message just to reach 3 posts and be able to use URLs!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 10:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:16 pm
Posts: 56
Here is (finally) the adress of the Web page I was talking about: http://www.java.com/en/download/installed.jsp

But, as I mentioned before, no applet seems to be displayed. For instance I have a white space instead of a card game in this page

Maybe a clue: here are some lines concerning java in the famous about:config page of Firefox:
Code:
Name of the option                                 Value

java.default_java_location_others                  /usr/java
java.default_java_location_solaris                 /usr/j2se
java.global_java_version_file                      /etc/.java/version
java.java_plugin_library_name                      javaplugin_oji
java.private_java_version_file                     ~/.java/versions


My directory /usr/jave contains:
Code:
$ ls -l /usr/java/
total 4
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   16 jun  9 15:54 default -> /usr/java/latest
drwxr-xr-x 7 root root 4096 jun  9 18:10 jre1.6.0_01
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root   21 jun  9 15:54 latest -> /usr/java/jre1.6.0_01


My directory /etc/.java is empty (as a consequence no /etc/.java/version) and ~/.java does not even exist. Would it be the cause of the problem? What are those values for you?

I really look forward Java 7 under GPL v.3! I guess it will then be included in the default installation of BLAG.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 10:24 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Ya, i look forward to a GPL'd java...

Try viewing that site in seamonkey (the successor to mozilla). I hear it supports java when firefox doesn't sometimes for whatever majickal reason.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 1:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
Did you install java from rpm?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:16 pm
Posts: 56
I installed the JRE from the RPM package. Should I install it from the other one?

I could try Seamonkey... but since the problem occurs on any site containing an applet, I'm not very optimistic...

Do you have the same config as me (in the about:page of Firefox and on the disk)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 2:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 9:54 pm
Posts: 193
I have the same in my firefox about:config but I have ~/.java directory and it's not empty, however Duke still don't dance on Sun's verify web page. I use my bank's online banking system without any issues, still need to know the site you trying to access to see if my firefox works.

Try this site and see if it suggests anything that you left out of the configuration of jre.

http://liquidat.wordpress.com/2006/11/0 ... va-on-fc6/

_________________
If it hurts it's because you're alive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 4:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:16 pm
Posts: 56
Thank you for your help weyasey. I have followed the instructions on the page you gave me in order to link the command java to the correct executable. However, this has not changed anything in Firefox. That was predictable since the plugin listed in the about:plugins page was already the Sun JRE.

I have tried tens of pages containing an applet (on totally different sites). In all of them I got a white space. Therefore I don't think the problem is related to a particular applet. Though, if you want to give me a page correctly displayed on your system, I can confirm you that.

Can you post here the content of your ~/.java/versions? Maybe creating this file on my system could solve my problem...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 6:33 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Did you try seamonkey?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 7:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:16 pm
Posts: 56
Not yet... Actually I came back home. I'll be in my parent's house next Saturday. I'll try.

Thank you for your help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 9:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:16 pm
Posts: 56
Remotely connected to my mother's box, I noticed that a file appeared (shame on me not to have seen it before):
Code:
$ cat ~/plugin_stack.trace
java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: Could not initialize class com.sun.deploy.config.Config
        at sun.plugin.AppletViewer.initEnvironment(Unknown Source)
        at sun.plugin.navig.motif.Plugin.doit(Unknown Source)
        at sun.plugin.navig.motif.Plugin.start(Unknown Source)


Other piece of information :
Code:
$ cat /etc/java/java.conf
# System-wide Java configuration file                                -*- sh -*-
#
# JPackage Project <http>

# Location of jar files on the system
JAVA_LIBDIR=/usr/share/java

# Location of arch-specific jar files on the system
JNI_LIBDIR=/usr/lib/java

# Root of all JVM installations
JVM_ROOT=/usr/lib/jvm

# You can define a system-wide JVM root here if you're not using the default one
#JAVA_HOME=$JVM_ROOT/java

# Options to pass to the java interpreter
JAVACMD_OPTS=


Code:
$ ls /usr/lib/jvm
java-1.4.2-gcj-1.4.2.0  jre-1.4.2  jre-1.4.2-gcj  jre-gcj


I reinstalled the gcj (without removing the sun JRE) because OpenOffice seems to depend on this specific variation of the JRE (previously was not installed). So it is normal that the related JRE are present. But I do not understand why there is no "jre-1.6.0". Is it the same on your system?

Thank you for your help and sorry for this amount of information which is probably not all relevant...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 6:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Also, make sure that "Allow Java" is checked in Firefox's preferences (!).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 7:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:16 pm
Posts: 56
This box is checked.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group