BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 8:53 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:33 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
Extra - dingoes? ;-)
Um, would screenshots of the installation help anyone at all? They are normally used for the wiki, right? I'm downloading BLAG-69999.00005.iso at the moment and will probably install it tonight or tomorrow.

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
I was attempting to install Linux Mint for fun (and failing) when I saw the new alpha was up. I didn't get to finish downloaded, came into work, saw 10001 started downloaded, halfway saw 10002, stopped and downloaded again and burned it. I hope I can get this CD home and installed before another ones comes out. :-)

I then saw the announcement on Distrowatch, but noticed it was already old and pointed to an old iso.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 12:58 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
Installed from a USB key!
Code:
jayeola@acid:~$ date && uname -a && cat /etc/issue
Thu Jun 28 00:51:05 GST 2007
Linux acid.localdomain 2.6.21-1.3228.fc7 #1 SMP Tue Jun 12 15:37:31 EDT 2007 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
BLAG release 69999 ()
Kernel \r on an \m

- The package progress bar does jump
- Dunno if it's this hardware/laptop but the first reboot did not start X. I had to shell in from another laptop and `apt-get -y update`, rebooted the box and X is back.

Code:
/sbin/lspci | grep Display
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation 82830 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller]


Screenshots taken during the installation.... /*uploading */

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
john maclean wrote:
Installed from a USB key!


Cool. :)

john maclean wrote:
- The package progress bar does jump


Ya, kind of annoying. I think the image needs to be shrunk. If anyone wants to whip up a new candidate feel free to email it to me or whatever (moe@blagblagblag.org) or I'll just shrink that one or do another.

john maclean wrote:
- Dunno if it's this hardware/laptop but the first reboot did not start X. I had to shell in from another laptop and `apt-get -y update`, rebooted the box and X is back.


One thing may be that rhgb is busted, so it makes X start & stop like 3 freaking times or something. I'm going to fix rhgb, but I'm also tempted (again) to just leave it out.

Thanks,

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
john maclean wrote:
Extra - dingoes? ;-)

our dog Bonita is part Australian Cattle Dog, which, in turn, is part dingo. One day we'll visit the Land Down Under. Until then, I'll display apparent non-sequiturs in my cubicle. Did you notice the warning poster from the Minnesota Zoo?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
jebba wrote:
One thing may be that rhgb is busted, so it makes X start & stop like 3 freaking times or something. I'm going to fix rhgb, but I'm also tempted (again) to just leave it out.


I boot BLAG on my laptop at run level 3 and have it start with vga=791. It seems faster and sleeker. Plus you get to see Tux while booting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 1:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
Gah! Normally during an install you press shift+ print screen and your screenshots are saved in root's dir. I made loads of them, about thirty or so and they seem to have disappeared. This is most likely caused my >>me<< rebooting the laptop thinking that X was busted in some way. Must the case that the images were not saved to disk as "blag-firstboot" or what ever the program that sets up new users was not completed? Anyway I've got a handful here [1].

Ah, soooo nice to have firefox highlight my spellinz mistakes! Well done Jebba. Will see if I can get a full set of screenies like this [2] over the weekend or even write another wiki [3].

[1] http://www.jayeola.org/media/images/tec ... pha/69999/
[2] http://www.jayeola.org/dump/SS-alpha/
[3] https://wiki.blagblagblag.org/Installin ... _a_USB_key

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2007 2:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
69999.10002:

wow, this seems much more of an beta than alpha. I'm going to keep this running and keep testing it out.

comments:
-picture bounces during package installs
-Doesn't find other Linux installs to put in grub
-RHGB fails to load (i say get rid of it)
-First boot runs this time although takes a little while to go
-it's anoying it complains about my password not being secure, just because a dictionary word appears, doesn't make it insecure. Ironic it doesn't complain about root passwords like that.
-nice picture for login
-OMFG! does this thing load fast, are you sure this isn't IceWM with a BLAG skin? No wait, the entire system is blazing compared to 50K on same system. (Linux Mint couldn't even bring up the install screen for an hour)
-LOL desktop picture
-Not sure if I like my name in upper right corner (but perhaps that will give other cool feature, will play with) (figured out how to change that if i want) (got it to work, wow this is cool and useful) (switched it to the graphic, added in the windows selector to the right of it)
-Pidgin needs a BLAG icon (and to go in the tool bar shortcuts)
-Icon chooser no longer gives you pictures to look at
-I'd replace the gnome/fedora log in screens with old BLAG ones
-the desktop session recorder is too long
-blag screen saver in gnome screen saver not working (although gnome screen saver still not as cool as xscreensaver)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 10:48 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
^^ what noldrin says. Also note that hitting <print> brings up a dialogs box which allows you to save a file..... then just hangs for a while. import foo.png works though. Screen shoots coming up!

Code:
apt-get update
Get:1 http://www.blagblagblag.org 70000/i386 release [1119B]
Fetched 1119B in 0s (1873B/s)
Get:1 http://www.blagblagblag.org 70000/i386/os pkglist [637kB]
Hit http://www.blagblagblag.org 70000/i386/os release                                                                         
Hit http://www.blagblagblag.org 70000/i386/updates pkglist                                                                   
Hit http://www.blagblagblag.org 70000/i386/updates release                                                                   
Get:2 http://www.blagblagblag.org 70000/i386/errata pkglist [1576kB]                                                         
Hit http://www.blagblagblag.org 70000/i386/errata release                                                                     
Hit http://www.blagblagblag.org 70000/i386/extras pkglist                                                                     
Hit http://www.blagblagblag.org 70000/i386/extras release                                                                     
Fetched 2213kB in 24s (89.6kB/s)                                                                                             
Failed to fetch http://www.blagblagblag.org/70000/i386/base/pkglist.errata  Size mismatch
Reading Package Lists... Done
Building Dependency Tree... Done
E: Some index files failed to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 12:03 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
http://www.jayeola.org/media/images/tec ... pha/69999/
The screenies I took during the install got hosed. Dunno why.

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 1:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:16 pm
Posts: 56
It seems like there is a problem with the integration of the Disk Analyzer. It shows the diagram and immediately after remains only the gray circle in the center.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 4:49 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
john maclean wrote:
Code:
                                           
Failed to fetch http://www.blagblagblag.org/70000/i386/base/pkglist.errata  Size mismatch
Reading Package Lists... Done
Building Dependency Tree... Done
E: Some index files failed to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.


The only time I have personally been able to figure out what causes this is when I realized my ISP was doing transparent proxying/caching and they were serving up older files than were actually on the server. Any idea if your ISP proxies/caches web hits?

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 6:45 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
Yum that's where my "knowledge" falls apart - networking. Funny enough yum update installed every thing that I needed, although very slooowly. (Why is yum so slow?)

- note that the '-font 10x20' is now fixed.
Quote:
[jayeola@acid ~]$ grep font .fluxbox/keys
Control Mod1 d :Exec xterm -font 10x20 -bc -cr white +sb -bg darkorange -fg "black"
Control Mod1 g :Exec xterm -font 10x20 -bc -cr white +sb -bg black -fg "green"
Control Mod1 j :Exec xterm -font 10x20 -bc -cr white +sb -bg black -fg "gold" -e jed ~/
Control Mod1 i :Exec xterm -font 10x20 -bc -cr white +sb -bg black -fg "gold" -e irssi
Control Mod1 v :Exec xterm -font 10x20 -bc -cr white +sb -bg black -fg "gold" -e vim .
Control Mod1 r :Exec xterm -font 10x20 -bc -cr white +sb -bg black -fg "red"
Control Mod1 o :Exec xterm -font 10x20 -bc -cr white +sb -bg "orange" -fg "black"
Control Mod1 p :Exec xterm -font 10x20 -bc -cr white +sb -bg purple -fg "black"
"Control Mod1 space :Exec xterm -font 10x20 -bc -cr white +sb -bg black -fg "red"

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:09 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
/* ahem */
I totally fubar'd this installation. I was setting up a USB key installation and ran
Code:
dd if=/mnt/key/images/diskboot.img of=/dev/sda

which destroyed the boot partition. Not used to the renaming of partitions, where /dev/sda was an [externa] disk. So the moral of the story is... be aware of the new partition names. Run `mount` and check that you are not about to wipe an essential partition, OK?

Also Ive seen a lot of irq weiredness from dmesg. I think that it's nash that's having trouble with my irq interputs. Will investigate later... I know for certian it's the yenta and usb "thingies" in this laptop....
Code:
 lshal | grep -i yenta
process 5032: Applications must not close shared connections - see dbus_connection_close() docs. This is a bug in the application.
  info.linux.driver = 'yenta_cardbus'  (string)
  info.linux.driver = 'yenta_cardbus'  (string)


Will investigate later. Rolling back to 60k in the meantime.

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2007 3:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
I went off to a BBQ and when I came back 70K had frozen. Last thing is messages was syslogd was restarting and then a gconfd start. Bon Echo was able to recover it's pages though.

I also noticed Synaptic appears twice in the administration menu. Perhaps move one of those to the Applications Menu, or just move Pirut to the administration menu. Points to Pirut's download helper as it was able to resolve dependencies before installing an application.

QT apps are not running at all or look motif fugly.

So far my favorite apps are running no problem under 70K: seamonkey, geany.

I downloaded an RPM, clicked open from download manager, crashed firefox, but Firefox was able to restore my session, including this message (!)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group