BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 3:25 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 173 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:33 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Double woo hoo! We've got a new working image here:

ftp://ftp.blagblagblag.org/pub/BLAG/linux/70000/en/iso

And i have a test box with 2.6.23 kernel and new kvm and its fast as hell for virtual testing...

Thanks for prodding me to continue to work on 70k as i think it will be quite nice. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
jebba wrote:
My plan today is to work on 69k and play ping pong in the tourney here:
http://squat.net/tanneries/ (I'm actually at a building with "apt-get install anarchy" on the side of it :) So if nothing else comes up...


Too bad that on BLAG you can only "apt-get install democracy" ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
jebba wrote:
Double woo hoo! We've got a new working image here:


So far the installation is going awesome. Durring the install progress bar, the screen is still jumping when it switches packages. Knowing nothing, if I had to venture a reason, it's because it's being position on the screen using a centering command, and when it switches packages, for a brief moment no package is showing which causes it to be reentered. Solutions might involve:

- using 2 blank lines as placeholder
- positioning items using something other than center
- remove the pause between when packages are displayef


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 5:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
noldrin wrote:
So far the installation is going awesome. Durring the install progress bar, the screen is still jumping when it switches packages. Knowing nothing, if I had to venture a reason, it's because it's being position on the screen using a centering command, and when it switches packages, for a brief moment no package is showing which causes it to be reentered. Solutions might involve:

- using 2 blank lines as placeholder
- positioning items using something other than center
- remove the pause between when packages are displayef


What I dont really get is that part is just stock fedora (unless the bug is upstream as well) and the image I'm using there is the same size as the image you have. I haven't searched their bz yet. If you have any more revelations (or a fix!) let me know.

It's in blag bugzilla here:
http://bugzilla.blagblagblag.org/show_bug.cgi?id=903

-Jeff, who hasn't been working as much as he should be as he's been distracted by a very important ping pong tournament ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 6:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
So, I decided to try upgrading my laptop's BLAG from 60k to the new 69K.. partly because I'm considering a fresh install when 70k comes out and I don't mind it wrecking the system. I'll install a fresh install on my computer over the weekend.

The Screeenshot:
http://noldrin.com/69Ka.png

The Bad:
Booting goes smooth, although i do get horizon lines in the screen flashing me on occasion. Not a big deal at all.
Couldn't add the user switcher to my gnome task bar for some reason.
Had to add pidgin by hand to the gnome task bar

The Good:
I get into X without problems.
All my old config is still there preserved.
Everything is running great.
I see nothing that would *have* to be done in order to release 70K

The Suggestive:
I would change pirut with synapitc in the application menu
I would install system-config-samba by default if we BLAG is doing samba by default
I would replace XMMS with Audacious
I would install alacarte by default (it's now actually usable)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
noldrin wrote:
Booting goes smooth, although i do get horizon lines in the screen flashing me on occasion. Not a big deal at all.


Those white lines also appear during shutdown. So I added vga=791 to my grub conf, and everything is prettier and smoother, with no lines once it goes into that mode. I don't know if you want to do that for BLAG, but I like it. It also makes working on the command line a lot nicer in my opinion.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
noldrin wrote:
noldrin wrote:
Booting goes smooth, although i do get horizon lines in the screen flashing me on occasion. Not a big deal at all.


Those white lines also appear during shutdown. So I added vga=791 to my grub conf, and everything is prettier and smoother, with no lines once it goes into that mode. I don't know if you want to do that for BLAG, but I like it. It also makes working on the command line a lot nicer in my opinion.


Well, i'm not against it, but I'm a bit leery of what it may break. Like are we sure that's not going to botch things with some types of monitors or cards?

Also, for 69k it looks like selinux=0 isn't being passed to the boot line. I definitely need to sort that one out.

Thanks!

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 3:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
A lot of distros seem to boot in that vga mode, but yes, I don't know if they are auto detecting anything else first. Also It might be best to have it work by default on really old monitors and heads since that often what you get in a server room environment.

I was also thinking that perhaps it a good thing for BLAG to come out 3 months after the Fedora it's based on in order to give time for a lot of the bugs and fixes to be sorted out and to see if it's usable.

-Jason


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 5:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:41 pm
Posts: 68
Location: Idaho, USA
This could be the culprit, but it was supposedly fixed a long time ago...?
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=157583

jebba wrote:
noldrin wrote:
So far the installation is going awesome. Durring the install progress bar, the screen is still jumping when it switches packages. Knowing nothing, if I had to venture a reason, it's because it's being position on the screen using a centering command, and when it switches packages, for a brief moment no package is showing which causes it to be reentered. Solutions might involve:

- using 2 blank lines as placeholder
- positioning items using something other than center
- remove the pause between when packages are displayef


What I dont really get is that part is just stock fedora (unless the bug is upstream as well) and the image I'm using there is the same size as the image you have. I haven't searched their bz yet. If you have any more revelations (or a fix!) let me know.

It's in blag bugzilla here:
http://bugzilla.blagblagblag.org/show_bug.cgi?id=903

-Jeff, who hasn't been working as much as he should be as he's been distracted by a very important ping pong tournament ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 13, 2007 1:21 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
noldrin wrote:
A lot of distros seem to boot in that vga mode, but yes, I don't know if they are auto detecting anything else first. Also It might be best to have it work by default on really old monitors and heads since that often what you get in a server room environment.


I agree, there are still plenty of monitors out there that would barf on vga=791. Notably, my HDTV and many others don't like it, nor do any of my pre-1995 monitors.

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
iron_chef mailed me a patch which fixes missing `selinux=0` at boot and the funny bouncing blag image in anaconda. A new ISO is up on the ftp server with these fixes.

691M 2007-10-16 05:16 BLAG-69999.60010.iso

His patch ;)

Code:
--- anaconda-11.2.0.66/yuminstall.py   2007-05-21 12:36:35.000000000 -0600
+++ anaconda-11.2.0.66-new/yuminstall.py   2007-10-12 12:06:41.000000000 -0600
@@ -192,7 +192,7 @@
             self.doneSize += hdr['size']/1024.0
             self.doneFiles += len(hdr[rpm.RPMTAG_BASENAMES])
 
-            self.progress.set_label("")
+            #self.progress.set_label("")
             self.progress.set_text(_("%s of %s packages completed")
                                    %(self.donepkgs, self.numpkgs))
             self.progress.set_fraction(float(self.doneSize / self.totalSize))
@@ -1270,6 +1270,9 @@
                 anaconda.id.desktop.setDefaultRunLevel(5)
                 break
 
+   # fuck the NSA
+   anaconda.id.bootloader.args.append("selinux=0")
+
         # XXX: write proper lvm config
         AnacondaBackend.doPostInstall(self, anaconda)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:41 pm
Posts: 68
Location: Idaho, USA
Hey jebba -
I just wanted to follow up - I did get a chance to try this out on real hardware as well as with qemu and qemu-kvm, and it works in all cases. Groovy.

Joe


jebba wrote:
iron_chef mailed me a patch which fixes missing `selinux=0` at boot and the funny bouncing blag image in anaconda. A new ISO is up on the ftp server with these fixes.

691M 2007-10-16 05:16 BLAG-69999.60010.iso

His patch ;)

Code:
--- anaconda-11.2.0.66/yuminstall.py   2007-05-21 12:36:35.000000000 -0600
+++ anaconda-11.2.0.66-new/yuminstall.py   2007-10-12 12:06:41.000000000 -0600
@@ -192,7 +192,7 @@
             self.doneSize += hdr['size']/1024.0
             self.doneFiles += len(hdr[rpm.RPMTAG_BASENAMES])
 
-            self.progress.set_label("")
+            #self.progress.set_label("")
             self.progress.set_text(_("%s of %s packages completed")
                                    %(self.donepkgs, self.numpkgs))
             self.progress.set_fraction(float(self.doneSize / self.totalSize))
@@ -1270,6 +1270,9 @@
                 anaconda.id.desktop.setDefaultRunLevel(5)
                 break
 
+   # fuck the NSA
+   anaconda.id.bootloader.args.append("selinux=0")
+
         # XXX: write proper lvm config
         AnacondaBackend.doPostInstall(self, anaconda)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 4:21 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Yes, I have tested it and it works for me as well.

I have also built a live cd which does not suck as bad as the previous ones. It autologs in as user blagger and has far less annoying things coming up on boot. Much faster.

liveBLAG-69999.70001.iso


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 1:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
69999.60010 install report

downsides:
-BLAG boot splash missing again on install screen
-seems to need swap memory right away.. odd
-GRUB config doesn't find other BLAG install (I attempt to add it, didn't work)
-booting still a little staticy at times.
-pidgin has no blag icon - perhaps just use the gaim one.. people will recognize it to mean IM

upsides:
-no bounce :)
-still rocks

I think it's really good, i'd let my grandma use it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 8:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:19 pm
Posts: 151
Location: Chicago
I blagified a pidgin icon, which I just sent to jebba. Let me know if there are any other apps that need blag icons for 70k.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 173 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group