BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:11 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Monitor Resolution
PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 3:16 am 
Hi,

As my user name implies, I am a BLAG newbie. I downloaded and installed
ISO9002 image recently. Like many of you, I find this distro really cool. All
those superb selection of black and white background images during installation
was definitely a plus :D

I have only one issue: my screen resolution. I have a Mitsubishi Diamond
Pro87TXM monitior and an ATI Tech Mach64 (4MB memory). When I set
the resolution via System Setting->Display, it always displays the correct
dimension (330x240) but the units are in INCHES (and not in MM). Also
even after I set the reoslution to 1024x768, I only get 800x600.

How can I get any higher resolution? (I saw a latest posting that this issue
was noticed in the latest test ISO)

Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Thanks.

blag_newbie


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 6:31 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
I've got an old IBM think pad laptop. I tried to get the resolution right but every option that I tried did not work. This worked for me so don't rush of and change anything, wait for others to reply 'cos I'm a noob too.

I was advied to change /etc/X11/XF86Config.

Try less /etc/X11/XF86Config | grep Depth

All this does is show you the lines with the word Depth in the file /etc/....

There are lines in there that say "Depth 24" change them to 16. restart X and you will have a pukka monitor.

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 6:06 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
You should also be able to change it via:
Menu->System Settings->Display

maybe under the advanced tab.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 12:14 am 
Jeff,

As I stated in my original posting, setting the resolution via System Settings->Display
does not get me the desired resolution. BTW, I have not been able to get the 1024x768
resolution either by re-running the XF86 Config or by editing the /etc/X11/XF86Config
file.

Perhaps uninstalling/re-installing/re-running the redhat-config-xfree86 will help?

Thanks.

BLAG_NEWBIE


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 5:16 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
I apologize for not being able to give an exact explanation as i don't have 9000 at my finger tips. You don't need to uninstall redhat-config-xfree86

Make sure that your monitor is listed correctly under the "advanced" tab. You could also try a "generic 1024x768".

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 11:57 pm 
Jeff,

Didn't mean to be rude or anything with what I posted. I really thank you
for your suggestions. If anyone should be apologizing, it should be me
for my choice of poor words.

Appreciate your patience.

BLAG_NEWBIE


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group