BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 5:34 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:15 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
brixtoncalling wrote:
Unfortunately, Enlightenment hasn't been working in 70k (there's a problem with the packaging).


Doh! Really? Did I miss something? I don't see it in bugzilla. Can you add the info?

http://bugzilla.blagblagblag.org

Thanks!

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 11:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:41 pm
Posts: 68
Location: Idaho, USA
jebba wrote:
brixtoncalling wrote:
Unfortunately, Enlightenment hasn't been working in 70k (there's a problem with the packaging).


Doh! Really? Did I miss something? I don't see it in bugzilla. Can you add the info?

http://bugzilla.blagblagblag.org

Thanks!

-Jeff


I just entered a Bugzilla for this...

Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:32 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
http://bugzilla.blagblagblag.org/show_bug.cgi?id=987


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:21 am
Posts: 44
not too interested in the eye candy but i want to run a few games(free games), i had tried
Code:
yum install kmod-nvidia

but i don't think it worked
i ran
Code:
 cat /etc/yum.repos.d/livna.repo

and got
Code:
[livna]
name=Livna for Fedora Core $releasever - i386 - Base
baseurl=
        http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/i386/
        http://livna.cat.pdx.edu/fedora/$releasever/i386/
        http://wftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/livna/fedora/$releasever/i386/
        http://ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/i386/
        http://mirror.atrpms.net/livna/fedora/$releasever/i386/
        ftp://mirrors.tummy.com/pub/rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/i386/
failovermethod=priority
#mirrorlist=http://rpm.livna.org/mirrorlist-7
enabled=1
gpgcheck=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-livna

[livna-debuginfo]
name=Livna for Fedora Core $releasever - i386 - Debug
baseurl=
        http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/i386/debug/
        http://livna.cat.pdx.edu/fedora/$releasever/i386/debug/
        http://wftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/livna/fedora/$releasever/i386/debug/
        http://ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/i386/debug/
        http://mirror.atrpms.net/livna/fedora/$releasever/i386/debug/
        ftp://mirrors.tummy.com/pub/rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/i386/debug/
failovermethod=priority
enabled=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-livna
gpgcheck=1

[livna-source]
name=Livna for Fedora Core $releasever - i386 - Source
baseurl=
        http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/SRPMS/
        http://livna.cat.pdx.edu/fedora/$releasever/SRPMS/
        http://wftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/livna/fedora/$releasever/SRPMS/
        http://ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/SRPMS/
        http://mirror.atrpms.net/livna/fedora/$releasever/SRPMS/
        ftp://mirrors.tummy.com/pub/rpm.livna.org/fedora/$releasever/SRPMS/
failovermethod=priority
enabled=1
gpgkey=file:///etc/pki/rpm-gpg/RPM-GPG-KEY-livna
gpgcheck=1

Still trying to figure, but i need to "brush my teeth"
//Sunny//


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 6:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:33 pm
Posts: 72
jebba wrote:
http://bugzilla.blagblagblag.org/show_bug.cgi?id=987


Thanks for fixing Englightenment!

I now have my own bugzilla account and I've added another small problem with packages (bug 989).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:21 am
Posts: 44
Thanks for the Enlightenment
//sunny//


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 5:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:21 am
Posts: 44
help i cant seem to access the livna repos i think there is something wrong.
here is a repost of the error I'm getting
Code:
 yum install kmod-nvidia
extras                    100% |=========================| 1.1 kB    00:00     
http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/%24releasever/i386/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] HTTP Error 404: Not Found
Trying other mirror.
http://livna.cat.pdx.edu/fedora/%24releasever/i386/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] HTTP Error 404: Not Found
Trying other mirror.
http://wftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/livna/fedora/%24releasever/i386/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] HTTP Error 404: Not Found
Trying other mirror.
http://ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/rpm.livna.org/fedora/%24releasever/i386/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] HTTP Error 404: Not Found
Trying other mirror.
http://mirror.atrpms.net/livna/fedora/%24releasever/i386/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 14] HTTP Error 404: Not Found
Trying other mirror.
ftp://mirrors.tummy.com/pub/rpm.livna.org/fedora/%24releasever/i386/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 4] IOError: [Errno ftp error] 550 Failed to change directory.
Trying other mirror.
Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: livna. Please verify its path and try again

can any one help out
THANKS


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 8:20 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
did you run `yum -y update` before `yum install kmod-nvidia`?

Code:
yum update && yum install kmod-nvidia

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 10:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
john maclean wrote:
did you run `yum -y update` before `yum install kmod-nvidia`?

Code:
yum update && yum install kmod-nvidia


I dont think it's a good idea to run `yum update` with the livna repo enabled. You shouldn't do that (or a `apt-get upgrade`) when non-blag repos are enabled or you may wind up with a funky system...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 11:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
Doh! Would that really mess up a system that bad? How would one recover a goofy move such as I would've done?

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 3:15 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
john maclean wrote:
Doh! Would that really mess up a system that bad? How would one recover a goofy move such as I would've done?


Search these repos for people that have dist-upgraded with other repos enabled...And originally you even threw in a `-y` for good measure..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2008 12:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:21 am
Posts: 44
DOH

alright whats the best advice, should i just reinstall 70000 and then run

Code:
apt-get update

and then
Code:
yum install kmod-nvidia

or am i missing something else???????????
thanks for the help
//sunny//



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2008 5:00 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Well you shouldnt have to re-install unless you did a dist-upgrade with another repo enabled. Even if you did that you don't necessarily need to re-install.

I'd suggest not installing proprietary software at all, of course...There's a reason you're encountering troubles and it's due to using the non-free software.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
jebba wrote:
Well you shouldnt have to re-install unless you did a dist-upgrade with another repo enabled. Even if you did that you don't necessarily need to re-install.


Agreeing with jebba here, the best way to install something from another repo - if you've decided that that's what you're going to do - is to grab only the specific RPMs needed and then to apply like so:

Code:
rpm -Uvh <rpm>


I just had to do this exact thing in my workplace. A customer wanted the XFS filesystem implemented on a Red Hat host. The problem is that Red Hat doesn't support XFS, but the salesman said "of course we can do that for you if it means closing the deal". I grabbed a pair of RPMs from a CentOS repo and installed them on the system - just in time for the customer to do a 5TB data load.

So... "supplementing" a repo can be done, but should only be done piecemeal. Just my two pesos, mind you.

jebba wrote:
I'd suggest not installing proprietary software at all, of course...There's a reason you're encountering troubles and it's due to using the non-free software.

-Jeff


Well said.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
jebba wrote:
john maclean wrote:
did you run `yum -y update` before `yum install kmod-nvidia`?

Code:
yum update && yum install kmod-nvidia


I dont think it's a good idea to run `yum update` with the livna repo enabled. You shouldn't do that (or a `apt-get upgrade`) when non-blag repos are enabled or you may wind up with a funky system...


The funkiness occurs because an "apt update" or "yum update" modifies the package cache in /var/cache/apt. This could result in duplicate packages, overwritten packages or - worse of all - packages that conflict with existing applications. It's probably best to just grab the RPM or tar file from the livna repo and install it separately, leaving your local package cache intact.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group