BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 1:13 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 6:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:15 am
Posts: 125
Location: Western Australia
Hello again. Great distro. Everything seems fine, but I needed to install the NVIDIA driver for 3D accel for games, and installed that fine with a bit of research, all runs fine. Thing is, when I open up a game, be it Penguin Command, or Unreal Tournament , the window for the game appears to be about only half size, leaving the surrounding half of the screen black. The window shows fine, and everything displays wonderfully clear, but for some reason only seems to use half of the screen, and this is quite annoying. Below is a copy of my /etc/X11/xorg.conf


# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder3) Thu Dec 13 19:09:35 PST 2007

# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
ModelName "Monitor 1600x1200"
HorizSync 31.5 - 94.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 90.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "1920x1440" "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768"
EndSubSection
EndSection


-----------------

I'm about average in my linux knowledge, mainly general stuff, and normally get by. Never had quite this issue before, so not quite sure where I should look. Cannot see anything obvious, but then I'm not sure what I need to look for. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 6:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:05 pm
Posts: 286
run nvidia-settings as root, and in this screen set the resolution + refresh rate the game uses when it runs in black box.
play around with refresh rate setting until the screen is expanded or alternatively/in addition to that resize your actual screen to this resolution (it will resize back to previous state once different resolution applied)
there could be a chance that the setting which causes "black box" might be either refresh rate outside of what your monitor can handle, or from the vid card side it might be the resolution which card can not handle.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 12:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:15 am
Posts: 125
Location: Western Australia
This only occurs while the game is running tho, once the game is closed, such as Penguin-Command, the view occupies the full-screen again, no black. When the game runs, only the middle half of the screen is being used, the outer-half is black. So changing the resolution does nothing., I appreciate the advice, but it doesn't seem to have any bearing on what it's doing. Perhaps I did not explain myself clearly enough.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 2:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:05 pm
Posts: 286
if tremulous looks something like this, it means you didn't set resolution in game, just connect to any server or start new server - escape - options - set either 1024x768 or 1280x1024.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 3:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:15 am
Posts: 125
Location: Western Australia
No, I have only tried it with Penguin-Command (I miss Missile-Command from when I was a kid:p) and Unreal Tournament, and the ratios are fine, and the resolution seems fine, but everything is shrunk down to about half size, the outer-half of the screen being black, as tho the video boundary does not extend that far, and the game is confined to the centre half of the screen.

There is no option in Missile Command to change this, and it has not been a problem in the other 2 distros I run, PCLinuxOS and Debian Etch. Both games run fine there, but something is screwing with the video here. The full game is on screen, but confined to the centre half of the screen. I'm sorry if I'm not explaining it well, I just can't seem to see why this is occurring.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 5:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:05 pm
Posts: 286
so what happens when you set your screen resolution to be same as "in game" resolution (prior to starting the game) - still a black box?

ps << never had any problems with ut or any other game resolution/black box wise.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 3:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:15 am
Posts: 125
Location: Western Australia
I ended up logging in as root temporarily, then running the nvidia config menu, setting the resolution and refresh rate there, saving it, then logging out and back in as user. This seems to have fixed it, and allowed me to play things in full-screen. Thanks for your assistance guys. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 4:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:21 am
Posts: 44
I have a similar problem I have changed my driver to the NVIDIA dr iver and now when I click on Tremulous my computer goes black and read it cannot support the resolution and read that my optimum resolution is 1680x1050 I also have a problem logging on to my non user account I posted a new topic on as "screen Resolution Error"
he is my x-config any help is appreaciated
Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Code:
 Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "single head configuration"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option       "XkbModel" "pc105"
   Option       "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   ModelName    "DELL E207WFP"
   HorizSync    30.0 - 83.0
   VertRefresh  56.0 - 75.0
   Option       "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Videocard0"
   Driver      "nvidia"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Videocard0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   DefaultDepth     24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
      Modes    "1680x1050" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1280x800" "1280x768" "1280x720" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "640x480" "640x400"
   EndSubSection
EndSection


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:05 pm
Posts: 286
comment out Option "dpms" & remove all resolutions except 1680x1050

PS Dell - ha ha ha ha ha ha ha... :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:21 am
Posts: 44
gr00ve wrote:
comment out Option "dpms" & remove all resolutions except 1680x1050

PS Dell - ha ha ha ha ha ha ha... :P

Thanks again for helping heres the change but I still have the same problem

x config reads

nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder3) Thu Feb 14 18:21:33 PST 2008

# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "DELL E207WFP"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6150 LE"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0; 1680x1050 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
yeah dell, I have a 1 year old dell PC that I deleted windows from a few months back. at the time it was cheaper than building my own with the 20 " plat panel monitor included


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 2:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 9:54 pm
Posts: 193
You did not comment out Option "dpms"

try doing as the post said and see if it works, make a backup of your Xorg config before doing any changes....just to be on the safe side ;)

_________________
If it hurts it's because you're alive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 2:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:21 am
Posts: 44
ok I am a tardo what does "comment out Option "dpms" " mean? also on the other post you left some instructions could you please elaborate as well
thanks
//sunny//


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:15 am
Posts: 125
Location: Western Australia
s6k wrote:
ok I am a tardo what does "comment out Option "dpms" " mean? also on the other post you left some instructions could you please elaborate as well
thanks
//sunny//


To comment something out, you put a hash # in front of it, that tells the OS to ignore what comes after it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:31 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
If you put a # as the first character on the line then the text on that line is not processed as a command. It's ignored and is not run by the box. So just put a "#" character at the start of the line where Option "dpms" is in that and save it.

Code:
#Section "Monitor"                                                                                                                                                       
#        Identifier      "Generic Monitor"                                                                                                                               
#        Option          "DPMS"                                                                                                                                           
#        HorizSync       28-51                                                                                                                                           
#        VertRefresh     43-60                                                                                                                                           
#EndSection         

I've just commented out a section of code.

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 3:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:21 am
Posts: 44
i commented out the # Option "dpms" but I still have the same problem when i selected super tux the game my screen went black and and my monitor read "can not display mode optimum resolution 1680x1050" this also happens when i log in to my non root account as well
here is my x config
thanks for the help
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder3) Thu Feb 14 18:21:33 PST 2008

# Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "DELL E207WFP"
HorizSync 30.0 - 83.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
# Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6150 LE"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0; 1680x1050 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group