BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:08 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Nvidia & gdm problems
PostPosted: Sat Jul 07, 2007 12:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:06 pm
Posts: 7
Hi,

I've installed the nvidia drivers direct from nviida and although they work, it seems to be creating two gdms which results in reverting to a level 3 login. If I kill the earlier gdm process then gdm fires up and I can login, can anyone suggest how to solve this so that it boots straight into gdm?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 8:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:06 pm
Posts: 7
jamieburt wrote:
Hi,

I've installed the nvidia drivers direct from nviida and although they work, it seems to be creating two gdms which results in reverting to a level 3 login. If I kill the earlier gdm process then gdm fires up and I can login, can anyone suggest how to solve this so that it boots straight into gdm?


I hate replying to my own post but I've removed the officail nvidia drivers and downloaded the rpm's from livna but I'm still having the same problem, trouble is, it does not happen all the time, only about every other boot. Quite puzzled by this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2007 9:11 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
If when you boot up and it's at the login: prompt can you hit ctrl-alt-f7 to get to GDM? I've heard of reports where people say GDM is running, but its actually displaying vt1 (the first console). I'm not sure why though!

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:05 pm
Posts: 286
just try removing rhgb via yum remove rhgb
would be nice to do same to evilboot errr firstboot* :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: gdm
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 8:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:06 pm
Posts: 7
gr00ve wrote:
just try removing rhgb via yum remove rhgb
would be nice to do same to evilboot errr firstboot* :)


Yup, that did the trick very nicely thanks very much, also ctrl-Alt & F7 does bring up gdm but removing rhgb enables a quick clean boot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gdm
PostPosted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 11:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:06 pm
Posts: 7
jamieburt wrote:
gr00ve wrote:
just try removing rhgb via yum remove rhgb
would be nice to do same to evilboot errr firstboot* :)


Yup, that did the trick very nicely thanks very much, also ctrl-Alt & F7 does bring up gdm but removing rhgb enables a quick clean boot.


OK, some months later, upgraded to Blag7k and have the same problems, except rhgb does not exist anymore!! This time however I can't kill a GDM process and login and seem to be stuck in a loop! does anybody have any pointers please?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 8:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:15 am
Posts: 125
Location: Western Australia
What video card are you running, and what did you do to install the drivers? Please be as detailed as possible. I did some research into installing mine, and once I worked out the necessary steps, it was very simple to do.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gdm
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:16 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
jamieburt wrote:
jamieburt wrote:
gr00ve wrote:
just try removing rhgb via yum remove rhgb
would be nice to do same to evilboot errr firstboot* :)


Yup, that did the trick very nicely thanks very much, also ctrl-Alt & F7 does bring up gdm but removing rhgb enables a quick clean boot.


OK, some months later, upgraded to Blag7k and have the same problems, except rhgb does not exist anymore!! This time however I can't kill a GDM process and login and seem to be stuck in a loop! does anybody have any pointers please?


Have you waited for it to attempt to start 5 times? If it fails more than that, it should stop.

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: gdm
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:06 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks for replying guys, I found a link on google that told me to edit my xconf file which worked fine. Cheers.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group