BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 9:40 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 1:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 12:51 pm
Posts: 5
I've distro hopped for the past year, and want to give BLAG a try. 3 things that seem to be causing me the most consternation:

Wireless: I have a ThinkPad T41 with built-in wireless and a Buffalo AirStation USB wireless. Was wondering how to go about getting either or both working.

Virtualization: Used VirtualBox in the past, and was curious to see what others would recommend.

Menus: Is there a way to edit the menus?

Any help would rock.

Thx


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 3:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 10:33 pm
Posts: 72
Quote:
Virtualization: Used VirtualBox in the past, and was curious to see what others would recommend.

I have VirtualBox on my BLAG 70k system. It runs much faster than (k)qemu, which I also have installed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:07 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
anchorite wrote:
I've distro hopped for the past year, and want to give BLAG a try. 3 things that seem to be causing me the most consternation:

Wireless: I have a ThinkPad T41 with built-in wireless and a Buffalo AirStation USB wireless. Was wondering how to go about getting either or both working.


Here's a list of cards which theoretically work with Free Software:
http://www.fsf.org/resources/hw/net/wireless/cards.html

I'm not sure about your card in particular though. Many say one thing on the outside and have something else inside them.

anchorite wrote:
Virtualization: Used VirtualBox in the past, and was curious to see what others would recommend.


kvm, if you have a processor that can handle it. I don't think the T41 does though. You can also use qemu. Qemu also has a kqemu kernel module that makes it go much faster too.

anchorite wrote:
Menus: Is there a way to edit the menus?


Menu-->System-->Preferences-->Look and Feel (in blag those are verbs, upstream they are nouns)-->Main Menu

If it's not there, install alacarte. I've added it so it will be in BLAG 90001, btw.


anchorite wrote:
Any help would rock.


y voila!

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 12:51 pm
Posts: 5
Looks like my usb wireless is included in the link. Now just have to get it working.

Will give QEMU a shot also. The laptop is dual-boot with XP, and need to see it for the job, and don't want to have to reboot.

I will definitely have enough to play with to keep me occupied tonight :-D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 12:51 pm
Posts: 5
I know this is trivial, but I liked the workspace cube in 70k. I can't seem to find the settings in the newest.

Like I said, pretty minor :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
anchorite wrote:
I know this is trivial, but I liked the workspace cube in 70k. I can't seem to find the settings in the newest.

Like I said, pretty minor :-)


compiz-fusion ? Perhaps you are looking for that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2008 12:51 pm
Posts: 5
Yes indeed. Thanks much! Knew the compiz part, forgot the fusion.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group