BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 2:43 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: FREEEEE images
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Yesterday I performed a fresh install of FREEEEE-200809090129.ext2 on my eee900 and found that I couldn't get wicd-client to connect to any wireless networks - be they WEP or unencrypted. I had been running FREEEEE-200808310754.ext2 without wireless issues, although I found that I still needed to clear the contents of /var/lib/dhclient under both images when switching between networks. I noticed an image between these two: FREEEEE-200809070611.ext2 - and thought I might try it next.


Last edited by extraspecialbitter on Thu Sep 18, 2008 1:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 1:38 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Hmm. I think that version has a newer kernel. Try powering off your machine entirely then bringing up wifi, if you haven't already. Also, more details on "doesn't work", perhaps. Like scanning brings up nothing, or it just doesn't dhclient correct or.....

I'm building wicd 1.5.2 at this very moment so it should be in the repo in the next 30 minutes or so. Perhaps that will help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 6:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
jebba wrote:
Hmm. I think that version has a newer kernel.


marley@eeyore ~> uname -r
2.6.26.5-8.libre1.rt7.freeeee.i686

jebba wrote:
Try powering off your machine entirely then bringing up wifi, if you haven't already. Also, more details on "doesn't work", perhaps. Like scanning brings up nothing, or it just doesn't dhclient correct or.....


Yes, I've tried powering off - both with and without wired internet connected - but no joy. Apologies for not including more relevant info, e.g. a snippet from /var/log/messages:

Code:
[root@eeyore ~]# tail -f /var/log/messages
Sep 15 14:19:27 eeyore init: prefdm main process ended, respawning
Sep 15 14:19:27 eeyore init: prefdm respawning too fast, stopped
Sep 15 14:19:28 eeyore kernel: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
Sep 15 14:19:28 eeyore acpid: client connected from 2016[0:500]
Sep 15 14:19:29 eeyore kernel: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
Sep 15 14:19:30 eeyore kernel: [drm:i915_getparam] *ERROR* Unknown parameter 5
Sep 15 14:19:48 eeyore gconfd (marley-2128): comenzando (versión  2.22.0), pid 2128 usuario «marley»
Sep 15 14:19:50 eeyore gconfd (marley-2128): Se resolvió la dirección «xml:readonly:/etc/gconf/gconf.xml.mandatory» a una fuente de configuración de sólo lectura en la posición 0
Sep 15 14:19:50 eeyore gconfd (marley-2128): Se resolvió la dirección «xml:readwrite:/home/marley/.gconf» a una fuente de configuración escribible en la posición 1
Sep 15 14:19:50 eeyore gconfd (marley-2128): Se resolvió la dirección «xml:readonly:/etc/gconf/gconf.xml.defaults» a una fuente de configuración de sólo lectura en la posición 2
Sep 15 14:22:36 eeyore kernel: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready


The first "link is not ready" occurred during bootup; the second was the result of trying to connect via wicd-client.

iwconfig wlan0 looks promising:

Code:
[root@eeyore ~]# iwconfig wlan0
wlan0     IEEE 802.11  ESSID:"DINGONET" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: 00:0F:B5:B2:4E:53   
          Bit Rate=2 Mb/s   Tx-Power=27 dBm   
          Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2352 B   
          Encryption key:8745-FFD0-5397-D018-B48B-2DDB-15
          Link Quality=98/100  Signal level=-34 dBm  Noise level=-97 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


...but ifup wlan0 stalls and ultimately fails:

Code:
[root@eeyore ~]# ifup wlan0

Determinando la información IP para wlan0... falló.
[root@eeyore ~]# tail /var/log/messages
Sep 15 14:25:04 eeyore NET[3285]: /sbin/dhclient-script : updated /etc/resolv.conf
Sep 15 14:25:04 eeyore dhclient: bound to 192.168.0.14 -- renewal in 36284 seconds.
Sep 15 14:32:18 eeyore kernel: ACPI: EC: GPE storm detected, disabling EC GPE
Sep 15 14:34:44 eeyore kernel: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready
Sep 15 14:35:58 eeyore dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
Sep 15 14:36:04 eeyore dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 12
Sep 15 14:36:16 eeyore dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 13
Sep 15 14:36:29 eeyore dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 17
Sep 15 14:36:46 eeyore dhclient: DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 13
Sep 15 14:36:59 eeyore dhclient: No DHCPOFFERS received.


jebba wrote:
I'm building wicd 1.5.2 at this very moment so it should be in the repo in the next 30 minutes or so. Perhaps that will help.


I'll check to see if the new wicd-client has hit the repo and try that next, rather than downgrading to an earlier image - certainly a last resort...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 7:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
the new wicd-client behaves the same way. :^(

perhaps related, I Googled "GPE storm detected" and found this article, noting the introduction of a kernel regression at 2.6.25. I am running the newest (I think): 2.6.26.5-8.libre1.rt7.freeeee.i686


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 8:36 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
extraspecialbitter wrote:
marley@eeyore ~> uname -r
2.6.26.5-8.libre1.rt7.freeeee.i686


I'm running this ok with cleartext wifi.

extraspecialbitter wrote:
iwconfig wlan0 looks promising:

Code:
[root@eeyore ~]# iwconfig wlan0
wlan0     IEEE 802.11  ESSID:"DINGONET" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.462 GHz  Access Point: 00:0F:B5:B2:4E:53   
          Bit Rate=2 Mb/s   Tx-Power=27 dBm   
          Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2352 B   
          Encryption key:8745-FFD0-5397-D018-B48B-2DDB-15
          Link Quality=98/100  Signal level=-34 dBm  Noise level=-97 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


...but ifup wlan0 stalls and ultimately fails:

[code]
[root@eeyore ~]# ifup wlan0

Determinando la información IP para wlan0... falló.
[root@eeyore ~]# tail /var/log/messages
Sep 15 14:25:04 eeyore NET[3285]: /sbin/dhclient-script : updated /etc/resolv.conf
Sep 15 14:25:04 eeyore dhclient: bound to 192.168.0.14 -- renewal in 36284 seconds.


At this point you have an internet connection, yay! Use it quick cuz it appears to last for about 7 seconds.

extraspecialbitter wrote:
Sep 15 14:32:18 eeyore kernel: ACPI: EC: GPE storm detected, disabling EC GPE


Hrmmm. I've seen non-freeeee users report this in freenode #eeepc, but haven't seen it myself. Does it happen with the live boot as well or just in the install? (/me thinks that is going to become a common first question).

As a side note, do you use the Fn keys to control volume, on/off wifi and such?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 8:54 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
extraspecialbitter wrote:
I am running the newest (I think): 2.6.26.5-8.libre1.rt7.freeeee.i686


That is the latest release. I did a kernel that I hadn't released until now that has a fedora-drm (direct rendering not digital restrictions) patches to try out the i915_modeset forthcoming goodness.

The big picture is that X/kernel hackers etc want to set the mode (e.g. 1024x600) once at start (ideally) then just carry that all the way through to X windows. That way you don't get all those annoying mode switching glitches when booting up, when X is launching etc. It also means you have the framebuffer from the git-go set to the correct mode.

To enable this glorious new feature, you just add to your kernel grub line:

Code:
i915.modeset=1 video=intelfb:mode=1024x600-32 vga=789
OR:
i915.modeset=1 video=intelfb


This looks *RAD*. The console is 1024x600 straight from boot. It looks *so* clean. I think I can throw a bunch of images up there too, without too much pain.

I had to recompile a few things, who knows what, I think the xorg-x11-drv and libdrm package as well. Those updates were added to the repo last week. So FREEEEE is running the very latest Intel video driver.

I'll add that kernel now so you can give it a test. I accidentally built "all" the kernel packages for 2.6.26.5-9 (e.g. debuginfo, PAE, debug). If you find any of those useful I can include them in future builds.

I should warn you, it is a really cool feature, but is broken with X. :P If you figure out how to fix it, lemme know :) X does work, but not if you enable the cool modesetting thing. It freaks out when X starts. If you remove the modesetting from grub, X works fine.


(and as a total sideside note the latest mplayer build includes dirac, i have no idea why it and jack aren't supported in mplayer by default, hmm..)

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
jebba wrote:
extraspecialbitter wrote:
marley@eeyore ~> uname -r
2.6.26.5-8.libre1.rt7.freeeee.i686


I'm running this ok with cleartext wifi.


I know some people refer to WEP as "Worthless Encryption Protocol", but I'm too close to a Starbucks to leave my wifi in the clear. They charge $ for access to TMobile, so when the latte-dah set go surfing for free alternatives, my network would be vulnerable. One of these days I'll take the plunge with WPA, but WEP was working fine for me up until yesterday's install.

jebba wrote:
extraspecialbitter wrote:
Code:
[root@eeyore ~]# ifup wlan0

Determinando la información IP para wlan0... falló.
[root@eeyore ~]# tail /var/log/messages
Sep 15 14:25:04 eeyore NET[3285]: /sbin/dhclient-script : updated /etc/resolv.conf
Sep 15 14:25:04 eeyore dhclient: bound to 192.168.0.14 -- renewal in 36284 seconds.


At this point you have an internet connection, yay! Use it quick cuz it appears to last for about 7 seconds.


too funny! unfortunately my fingers aren't fast enough to do much more than change from desktop 1 to 2 in 7 seconds...

jebba wrote:
extraspecialbitter wrote:
Sep 15 14:32:18 eeyore kernel: ACPI: EC: GPE storm detected, disabling EC GPE


Hrmmm. I've seen non-freeeee users report this in freenode #eeepc, but haven't seen it myself. Does it happen with the live boot as well or just in the install? (/me thinks that is going to become a common first question).


Just tried out the latest live image, and I get a slightly different, but no less discouraging error:

Code:
wlan0: link is not ready


I noticed that /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts has no ifcfg-wlan0 (or ifcfg-eth0) scripts, which I assume is expected pre-liveinst.

jebba wrote:
As a side note, do you use the Fn keys to control volume, on/off wifi and such?


I don't, having learned my lesson with a Dell B130 a few years back. My blue wifi light is on, and I seem to seen networks when doing an "iwlist scan", so I won't mess with it.

I just copied FREEEEE-200809070611.ext2 (the previous image) to my USB stick. Perhaps I'll give that a whirl live to see if there is any difference...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 11:17 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
extraspecialbitter wrote:
I just copied FREEEEE-200809070611.ext2 (the previous image) to my USB stick. Perhaps I'll give that a whirl live to see if there is any difference...


ok, thanks for testing them out. If you find a good one I'll put it in the MILESTONES dir which is sort of "known good snapshots at certain points...." and punt the other one to the ATTIC.

http://www.freeeee.org/images/MILESTONES/


I currently don't have much of a unified changelog of what is changing release to release. Each RPM has it's own changelog, but doesn't just list the new differences.

You have access on cruftomatic, if you want to move around the good ones and bad ones yourself if you discover one (and update front page).

Thanks,

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 1:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
A question regarding freeeee images: would I be "current" if I installed from an earlier image and then performed a "yum update", or should I expect to perform a fresh install in order to properly upgrade? After having re-installed FREEEEE-20080831074, I updated to the most recent kernel, wicd, etc. Fresh installs are easy enough, but I've also customized my Openbox configuration and would rather not have to keep restoring it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:31 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
extraspecialbitter wrote:
A question regarding freeeee images: would I be "current" if I installed from an earlier image and then performed a "yum update", or should I expect to perform a fresh install in order to properly upgrade? After having re-installed FREEEEE-20080831074, I updated to the most recent kernel, wicd, etc. Fresh installs are easy enough, but I've also customized my Openbox configuration and would rather not have to keep restoring it.


Doing `yum update` will get you there, plus running the kludge-script `freeeee-desktop-reset` *as a regular user* (uid 500), not root will get you the new defaults. This was the quick/dirty way to get the desktop going, but I'll probably start rebuilding openbox with these for defaults, maybe even tonight.

I'm doing another image right now that has a new kernel and some tweaks, I'll push out another one when i have the default settings in a better place instead of just /etc/skelling them.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 10:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
jebba wrote:
I'm doing another image right now that has a new kernel and some tweaks, I'll push out another one when i have the default settings in a better place instead of just /etc/skelling them.

-Jeff


Yesterday I decided to do a fresh install of FREEEEE-200809181855. Very easy, very complete. Unencrypted wireless works fine with WICD; WEP does not. I'm content to stick to wired connections while we sort this out.

Code:
marley@eeyore ~> cat /etc/freeeee-release
FREEEEE release 0.7.3 (fluorine)
marley@eeyore ~> uname -r
2.6.26.5-41.libre1.rt9.freeeee.i686


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group