BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:31 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Posts: 13
Help please i want software/server on my Linux. I am root.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 42
tokyolight wrote:
Help please i want software/server on my Linux. I am root.


I'm not sure of what you're asking. Taking a guess, you are asking how to install software on your newly installed BLAG GNU/Linux system? You want to use yum to install software (if you are familiar with apt, that is available, too).
Code:
yum install foopackage
will install a program.
Code:
yum grouplist
will give you a list of package groups.
Code:
yum list '*foopackagename*'
will look for "foopackagename" in the name of available packages. Packages are, in general, broke into foopackage, foopackage-doc, foopackage-devel, depending on what you need.
Code:
yum info foopackage
will describe a package for you. Hope that helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Thanks for the help
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Posts: 13
Yes i just installed linux and how to i install the webserver that came with blag?and Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Thanks for the help
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 42
tokyolight wrote:
Yes i just installed linux and how to i install the webserver that came with blag?and Thanks


Code:
yum install httpd


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Thanks
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Posts: 13
Thanks it is installing right now and it is done thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Posts: 13
also were is the stuff where i can config to make it my site??????


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 42
tokyolight wrote:
also were is the stuff where i can config to make it my site??????


/etc/httpd/conf has httpd.conf and /etc/httpd/conf.d has other files to append to it, such as ssl.conf. Use service and chkconfig to enable the service once configured (service also has a configtest argument to do syntax checking of those config files).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Posts: 13
what is the ip/web site name?????


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 42
tokyolight wrote:
what is the ip/web site name?????


I'm not sure what you mean. You can access your own webserver as localhost, or whatever the hostname command shows you. However, to access this publically, you must have a public IP address, a registered domain, and a name server that is authoritative for that domain, pointing your domain to your IP address.

Is that what you were asking?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Posts: 13
no, not exactly i was asking i think can i asses it by just ip and not have a domain?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 42
tokyolight wrote:
no, not exactly i was asking i think can i asses it by just ip and not have a domain?


Yes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Posts: 13
ok do you now how to do it?or just a bit of info to do that, that would be helpfull, and what language is the Apache server?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 42
tokyolight wrote:
ok do you now how to do it?or just a bit of info to do that, that would be helpfull, and what language is the Apache server?


I don't understand your question.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 9:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Posts: 13
what language is apache server writtin in?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 11:54 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
Apache is writen in C but you dont have to know that language to configure the server. Have a look in somewhere like /etc/httpd/ and you'll see lots of files. Welcome to BLAG

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group