BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:00 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 8:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:33 am
Posts: 240
Location: Great Lakes
Somehow this does not work anymore. When I try to log on as "root" I get an error that the user name or password is wrong.

I know the password is correct, since I use it when Adding/Removing programs, and other occasions when I need it. However, it has probably been months since I actually used the computer as root.

I'm still using BLAG 70K.

Any advice? Thanks.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 8:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Is it possible that your root's default shell was reset to /bin/false or /sbin/nologin? Check for this like so:

Code:
egrep "false|login" /etc/passwd


Not sure if SELinux or Policytool might disable interactive root access somehow. Are you able to su to root at least?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 8:59 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
hansencomputers wrote:
Somehow this does not work anymore. When I try to log on as "root" I get an error that the user name or password is wrong.

I know the password is correct, since I use it when Adding/Removing programs, and other occasions when I need it. However, it has probably been months since I actually used the computer as root.


Are you trying on the console or via ssh? Perhaps you have PermitRootLogin=No in /etc/ssh/sshd_config (or whatever it is).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 9:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:33 am
Posts: 240
Location: Great Lakes
Yes, I'm able to SU to root. Also, just remembered that I ran "Bastille" a couple weeks ago. Wonder if this is related?

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 9:09 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
hansencomputers wrote:
Yes, I'm able to SU to root. Also, just remembered that I ran "Bastille" a couple weeks ago. Wonder if this is related?


Probably, yes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2008 9:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
hansencomputers wrote:
Yes, I'm able to SU to root. Also, just remembered that I ran "Bastille" a couple weeks ago. Wonder if this is related?

Mike


Very likely. One of the things Bastille does is lock down sshd_config, as well as some PAM settings. Check for "PermitRootLogin" being set to "No" in /etc/ssh/sshd_config, or similar changes to /etc/pam.d/login for starters.

I *think* Bastille saves backups of files it modifies, but I'm not 100% certain of this.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group