BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 7:09 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 12:26 pm 
I have installed blag with no problems until I boot from HDD. It boots all the way to the part that says "firstboot:" then the screen goes completely blank, like the monitor shuts off. I dont know whats wrong. One thing I did notice was there was a point where my MONITOR wasnt recognized.....the video card was but it said Monitor not recognized. There was a point where I couls=d manually choose what type of monitor. But I didnt do it and resumed install anyway. I would assume the monitor type is an LCD, right???? How do I return to the setup point to choose monitor type so I can start to use BLAG??? Please help....I am new to this....bob58


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 1:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2004 9:52 am
Posts: 73
does the computer totally freeze at this point ? can you get another console window up (by typing CTRL ALT and F1)

if you can then you may be able to run XFConfig or something similar otherwise i'd suggest a reinstall


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 3:04 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Hmm. Sometimes if you just let it sit there for awhile, firstboot will sort itself & the monitor out. It will do some probing & back & forth for awhile. If it doesn't, the easiest path is probably to re-install and choose "generic LCD 800x600" or something like that during the install.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: blank screen
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 6:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 12:22 pm
Posts: 13
I wasnt able to bring up anything even a console at that point cause it was just like the monitor was off, and computer was still running. I will attempt a re-install and look for the oint to choose monitor and do it right this time....but first I will try to let it sit a while and see if anything happens...bob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: problem solved
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 11:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 12:22 pm
Posts: 13
Hello.....I just re formatted the HDD and re installed and BLAG works just fine now.......I really like the auto mount when you pop a music cd in....very nice......I still have to play around with customizing....I was wondering about putting my own wallpapers on. Can I use .PNG or .JPG files? And what directory do they go in????? Thanks...bob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 2:55 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
For wallpapers (backgrounds) you can use .jpg or .png. They can be anywhere. I just create a backgrounds directory in my home directory. You right-click on the desktop to change the background.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 3:18 pm 
Thank you for the help....I find I am enjoying this OS very much.....It is very user friendly and this forum is great too...... :D


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group