BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 5:51 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 2:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:45 am
Posts: 550
Location: Guadeloupe (French W. Indies)
Just a little thing I think about. Everybody there know you may install a freed-ora (Fedora cleaned of all non-free stuff) doing like this: http://www.fsfla.org/svnwiki/selibre/linux-libre/freed-ora
So I think guys using freed-ora may use blag forum to ask for support or for giving help to the others.
You know too, you may install blag icons theme (Thanks to veganix) on it and run something like a blag. And maybe if we are some guys chatting about this here we'll go to a new blag release. With a little help from our friends (Thanks to the Beatles) we'll build something.
Happy New Year to all the old chaps and the new ones!

http://www.zenblagger.org/junichiro/Capture%20d%27%C3%A9cran%20-%2010032013%20-%2010:52:13.png

veganix freed-ora 18 desktop with Mate: http://veganix.files.wordpress.com/2012/12/freedora_18.png

_________________
Blag'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 7:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Alpi Marittime
to Junichiro & Veganix

My Blag16k has become unstable with Gnome 2.3 applets breaking,X-Chat Gnome ,Pidgin crashed ,I did reboot and re_installed although you both recommended avoiding using it for obvious security reasons.Had a Buggy Sylpheed on Blag 14k..also;And
as already explained i use another distribution on an external HD,but have no real experience with Bash & other Console but have opened a terminal a few times;
does installing Freed-ora need a full comprehension of the Kernel and how Unix file system works?..

<yum>

5,xî%?# presently mystified by all the different tools,Apt,ect;packages&repositories,
Once the Kernel is Libre is it all non Graphical?console to build all the way to look like
/veganix.freedora_18.png
Another point is failed to boot into Fedora19(black screen)Older Iso recommended.
Older Libre kernel as well?
Many questions from a beginner.
thanks anyhow .

---c(°J°)c---Tristan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 10:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:45 am
Posts: 550
Location: Guadeloupe (French W. Indies)
Does it boot with the non-free kernel? Did you update after installation?

_________________
Blag'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 12:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Alpi Marittime
Thanks Junichirô

It would not boot(2trials different ISO Downloads & different dates)
on Gnome3>>no Grub just a black screen /Although successfully booted Debian
Wheezy7 Gnome 3.
>@<Have just tried Xfce fedora Kernel 3.9.5-301 fc19.i686 and it boots successfully.!!
....But! its desperately staying installed with American keyboard set-up;like when one tries out a Live CD..am using French Keyboard Azerty.Rebooted and reset it to French but no success,language in French(good)but Keyboard no..
must be possible change keyboard set_up to Azerty once installed.with the terminal?
what's wrong with the installer.?have not tried Kde..maybe the installer works better.(?)
I know you have the flu at the moment so no hurry in answering++++I'll check out the Fedora Sites.& do some searching..In the meanwhile "prends soin de toi et bon rétablissement."

MERCI


tristan---c(°j°)c---


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 1:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:45 am
Posts: 550
Location: Guadeloupe (French W. Indies)
I didn't have any problem to have an azerty French keyboard. So don't know what happened to you.

_________________
Blag'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 2:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Alpi Marittime
Thanks Junichirô

One has to select keyboard conf by default..
Finaly on the 3rd boot all was fine keyboard wise
Yum is not recognizing my root password..
looks like root password stay on US keyboard conf
despite typing out the same and exactly the same
password...no success...(?)
I rebooted a 4th time and really triple checked ect...
but ended up again in Us keyboard conf.
. =tritqn (:-(
Bug 964460-Anaconda selects wrong keyboard layout but mostly
it concernsSuisse-Allemand. Language...no bug then..
4 boots 3 wrong keyboard set-up & no root password..
...!
Ok i will try again...later-enough for today-



tristan--c(°j°)c--


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 6:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Alpi Marittime
I have booted for the 5th time

1)when you select language & keyboard set-up by default Ok
2)what is happening is when i enter the root password

3)the set-up goes back to US keyboard
you have to double click to confirm your root password
it seems to confirm on only one click....

4)just after you are asked to create your Users account
and there it is back to US configuration=tristqn

5)Unable to login on the 5th boot!!password not valid..
the installer does not function properly at the very moment of
root password creation confirmation
sets back to Us thus rendering the valid password invalid.........!

I was unable to login on the 5th boot.

tristqn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 7:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:45 am
Posts: 550
Location: Guadeloupe (French W. Indies)
Don't know what you have done during installation; never had that kind of problem since a long time. Do you use a hard installation or a vm machine?

_________________
Blag'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2013 10:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 4:16 pm
Posts: 84
The current anaconda installer has improved slightly since fedora 18, but is still not very user friendly. Did you change the keyboard layout in the settings menu before running the installer? This seems to mess up keyboard settings.

robert (veganix)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 7:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Alpi Marittime
thanks Veganix & Junichirô
I shall try changing settings before installing to Hd -( No Vm )
all goes well ,untill>

http://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/Fed ... -x86.html..

.when I set the root password,( click Done to return to the Configuration Menu and Progress Screen. )

this resets the Keyboard to US...the User Creation is then only possible with Us conf.

It worked once =i had French keyboard and Language(Good for me).
but opening Yum would not recognize my root password,
the crucial point is when i click on confirm...
found these but as a beginner it may not concern the same problem and really too far
fetched for me...
(Current version of /usr/bin/fedora-setup-keyboard always reset keyboard )
Bug 478431 – re-implementation (in python) for fedora-setup-keyboard which respects user settings
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=478431
[Résolu] Keymap TTY (Page 1) / [F19] Support général / Fedora-Fr - Communauté francophone Fedora - Linux
http://forums.fedora-fr.org/viewtopic.php?pid=523504

Looks like Freed-ora is as hard as finding Free-Oro..!
--c(:-))...
Thanks
tristan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Alpi Marittime
Just tried for the 6th time
No sucess Veganix
-did a Media check on /dev/sr0
-the media check is complete -the result is pass

Settings>Keyboard>Layout>Add>French
Open Abi Word>type=Qwerty..!

Boot=Again &
set Keyboard by default in Language chosen French OK
After Root Password
US keyboard set-up Again!!!

Aborted this time
Will see later with maybe a Kde Iso...
Looks like a ""Buggy script Installer"...

toto no longer finding it rigolo..
...(:-))
Thanks anyway..
tristan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 14, 2013 10:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Alpi Marittime
the other solution would be to simply
grab hold of a US keyboard....
any difference between US & UK...?
.been installing all Os in french up untill
now..

tristan


Last edited by tristan on Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 15, 2013 3:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Alpi Marittime
I Downloaded another Xfce Iso from Fedora france Site....Same Result
I cannot even log ...in .
Script bug on the Installer?the moment you enter your Root Password
it sets itself back to ""Us configurations...thus even invalidating the root password!!
I mean i have tried 8 times...! it boots fine..thought.

I am a beginner but since June Have successfully installed over a 100 Gnu_Linux Os
I even tried Arch Linux wich booted fine...no Language or Keyboard bug..
i got out= too dificult...but have installed successfully all the variants of Debian based
Ubuntus,voyageur,Emmabuntus,Fuduntus(Fedora),Bodhi,PuppyLinux,Pardus's,
Debian,GoboLinux,Porteus,Noop,ElementaryOS,Toutou Linux ...ect.....
.dual booted Debian7Gnome3withXubuntu13.04.

some bugs (30%)of course but always error messages on the boot such as Sabayon MATé ( NVIDIA) Salix(Slackware)would not load Lilo. Or debug this..issues>conflicting ..
ect...
Moving towards Freedom =
gNewSense,Trisquel and Blag 3k / 7K /14K / 16k... install super all in 15 minutes,
no worries..i forgot Dy:nebolic..
Can a Script cause this or Uefi?..it's just not installing the Keyboard configurations
Here a ""more than experienced" user looks like his keyboard stayed in Us as well..(onF19)
http://forums.fedora-fr.org/viewtopic.php?pid=523504
here is the details of the Installer Bug

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=964460#c1
Description of problem:
The new Anaconda installer offers an option called "Set keyboard to default layout for selected language". This option however, does not select the correct layout for Swiss German but the layout for German (Austria) instead....
looks like its the same problem but with French Keyboaed Setup.on F19.01


Bug 889562 - Console keymap set to "us" if you install with a keymap not provided by systemd-localed
https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=889562
quote:
The completed spoke shows "French (French (Canada))", the install completes, but after reboot, I have US keyboard layout at the console, and vconsole.conf says KEYMAP="us".


Hey i'm gonna take a break...US or Whatever Keyboard....
照楼主的描述,应该是那部拍得不能再烂的苍月女奥特曼了,!!!!

\°j°/
tristan[/b]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 11:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2013 2:05 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Alpi Marittime
At Last...!

Fedora 19 is installed with a azerty keyboard ,to be frank i was about to abandon,i tried 3 more times...and found how to solve this "nutty"keyboard
installer bug...So i booted in all 14times..
Solution found not on Fedora France Forum or BugZilla but on a site"Comment-ca-marche"which basically sujested=

(réinstalle fedora et evite les lettre a q w z dans le mot de passe root )

http://www.commentcamarche.net/forum/af ... -fedora-19

i booted again set a root passwords without a q w z letters...it logged in fine,i emmediatly opened Yum extender..it reconized my password and updated....
..made my day..!!!(:-)

in the meanwhile i also tested my Gf's brand new azerty keyboard thinking that it may be a hardware issue..maybe building up to a Libre Kernel is going to be even harder.(uh)..+ could not find a Qwerty keyboard anyhow..


A step towards Blag"Revival"19

tristqn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 3:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:45 am
Posts: 550
Location: Guadeloupe (French W. Indies)
There is now another way to have a 100% free fedora: Install:http://gdnewhat.org/ that is 100% free; replace gnome 3 by xfce; replace (if you want) claws mail by sylpheed; and add blag icons and theme.
I sent a email to taro (the guy from gdnewhat) to ask him if there is a IRC channel or something like that to discuss with them.

_________________
Blag'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group