BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 12:15 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: BLAG30k goes BETA
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 2:53 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
I'm quite happy to announce that BLAG 30k is now BETA.

Alpha == testing new stuff, adding/removing packages, kicking things around

Beta == It is "feature complete" and there will be no changes unless there are big clear bugs.

Not to knock Fedora folks, but this beta release should be much more stable than Fedora's final release, due to the massive number of package updates.

Availability:
ftp://ftp.blagblagblag.org/pub/BLAG/linux/30000/en/iso/

As of this writing, the current image is: BLAG-29999.40000.iso

There is some testing remaining to be done. My guess is that the only real changes that will be done from beta->final is whatever errata Fedora releases in the interim and some upgrade tweaks.

Take a look here for all current bugs (including 9k/10k):
http://bugzilla.blagblagblag.org/buglis ... medcmd=ALL

If you see any problems now, let me know soon. :) It's best if they get filed in bugzilla.

-Jeff

P.S. Oh yeah, the 30k repositories are now yum-enabled as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 10:34 pm
Posts: 186
Location: Ontario, Canada
My computer must be to old or something....Downloaded FC3...installed and it looks really nice but doesn't pick up my NIC (D-link 220 ISA PnP)...or CD-ROM

Also it freezes after about 10 minutes (no keyboard.....no mouse)....reset to re-boot !!

Tried BLAG 29999.40000 same thing ....no internet

Guess I need a newer computer !!??

BLAG 10000 re-installed...all is well again !!!!

Thanks for your efforts.....I'll try again again when this one dies....

Rob

_________________
Registered Linux User # 342652 Mandriva One 2007 Spring


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:04 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Hmm. A quick guess is the 2.6 kernel versus the 2.4 kernel (esp. ISA NIC). Also, did you verify the cd image? It shouldn't lock the box... ;)

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:54 am 
Thanks Jeff...

Yes, I'm thinking 2.6 vs 2.4

I did verify the cd.....tested... PASS.....

Too bad...the video is much cleaner....did I mention that my CPU is 466 Celreron???

Kind of outdated I guess !!! Anyway ... 10K is excellent !!

Rob


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 2:15 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Rob, I've run it down to 200MHz machines... It should certainly be possible. But 10k is nice too ;)

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:25 pm 
jebba wrote:
Rob, I've run it down to 200MHz machines... It should certainly be possible. But 10k is nice too ;)

-Jeff


Just to clarify a point....the 4 CD FC3 is the one that freezes the box...

BLAG 29999.40000 is good except for my ISA NIC problem...

Also, I failed to mention that the first line when BLAG 30 starts to boot up is....

ACPI: Unable to locate RSDP

I have no clue what this means....no doubt some of you will know...

It then proceeds to boot into the OS

Should I try again with a PCI NIC ??? I have a few old ones in stock from a network I'm salvageing....

Thanks again....Rob


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:31 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
A PCI NIC has way better odds of working.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 4:44 pm 
I installed 30k on a test box a couple of hours ago.
Nice job :D !

I have noticed something though, I've never used inkskape before so this might be normal. When I start inkscape I get a warning "One or more extensions failed to load". Probably nothing but I just thought I'd mention it.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 12, 2005 7:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
guest wrote:
I installed 30k on a test box a couple of hours ago.
Nice job :D !

I have noticed something though, I've never used inkskape before so this might be normal. When I start inkscape I get a warning "One or more extensions failed to load". Probably nothing but I just thought I'd mention it.


Yep. This can be solved by adding the ps2edit (IIRC) package. I don't know of it being packaged anywhere right now... I did request Fedora Extras to package it as they package inkscape too--I thought it would be a complementary package for them. I'll bug 'em again... ;)

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 9:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 10:34 pm
Posts: 186
Location: Ontario, Canada
jebba wrote:
A PCI NIC has way better odds of working.


Removed ISA NIC....installed NEC PCI NIC....detected ..but fc3 unable to initialize..........DANG....works perfect on FC1....even configures itself during the install and the internet is ready to use on first boot !!!!

As for the ACPI error.....I had to alter the BIOS APM setting to enable to solve this (although the cutoff is 2000 and mine is 1997)

I now get a postfix error on FC3 and FC1 during boot but all seems well (didn't get this with the ISA NIC)

Sticking with BLAG 10 until new machine !!! This one shows no signs of quitting even though it's 8 years old.....

Rob

_________________
Registered Linux User # 342652 Mandriva One 2007 Spring


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group