BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:17 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Swapping HD
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 5:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 3:42 pm
Posts: 129
Location: 'Burbs of the Windy City
In my current configuration, I have setup the /home and a modest swap (in
addition to the swap on the primary HD) on a secondary 1 GB drive .

I want to swap this drive with a 10 GB drive - with possibly more than just
/home. Perhaps /MP3 :D

Question: How do I go about it? Can I just replace the drives and hope
things will work? What are the things I should look out for?

Any help in this regard is appreciated.

Thanks.

Blaggard


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2004 8:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
How are you going to copy over your current /home partition? If you can temporarily copy it over to the root drive, then it's easier. You then just pop in the new drive and copy /home back.

Recommended copy command:
Code:
cp -a /home /home-old


You'll need to partition the new drive, once it's connnected. Use the command:
Code:
/sbin/fdisk /dev/hdc

Where:
hda=primary master
hdb=primary slave
hdc=secondary master
hdd=secondary slave

You will also need to format the new drive. To format the new home partition:
Code:
/sbin/mke2fs -j -m0 /dev/hdc1

And to format the swap partition:
Code:
/sbin/mkswap /dev/hdc2


Of course you'll need to change hdc1/2 to match your setup. If you paste your /etc/fstab file here, I can tell you exactly what you should use.

Have fun :)

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Swapping HD
PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 12:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 3:42 pm
Posts: 129
Location: 'Burbs of the Windy City
Jeff,

Thanks for the reply.

I can copy my HOME directory temporarily to /tmp (as root). Then
following your advice, I should be install and copy back the directory.

Would you recommend reiserfs for this? Why or why not?

I have copied my /etc/fstab file:


Code:
LABEL=/                 /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
LABEL=/boot             /boot                   ext3    defaults        1 2
none                    /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
LABEL=/home             /home                   ext3    defaults        1 2
none                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
none                    /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
/dev/hdb2               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
/dev/hda3               swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom              udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
/dev/cdrom1             /mnt/cdrom1             udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
/dev/fd0                /mnt/floppy             auto    noauto,owner,kudzu 0 0
/dev/hdc        /mnt/cdrom      auto    ro,noauto,user,exec     0 0
/dev/scd0       /mnt/cdrom1     auto    ro,noauto,user,exec     0 0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 25, 2004 1:19 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
I would stick with ext3. It is very common, reliable, ever-present, etc. Reiser may give you more headaches than it's optimizations are worth.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group