BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:59 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: NMAP Port Scan
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 1:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 3:42 pm
Posts: 129
Location: 'Burbs of the Windy City
Hi,

When I did a NMAP port scan, I get the following message:

Quote:
Starting nmap 3.50 ( http://www.insecure.org/nmap/ ) at 2004-05-27 08:22 CDT
Interesting ports on localhost.localdomain (127.0.0.1):
(The 1657 ports scanned but not shown below are in state: closed)
PORT STATE SERVICE VERSION
111/tcp filtered rpcbind
6000/tcp open X11

Nmap run completed -- 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 3.705 seconds


I use X11 applications at work, so I set my DISPLAY to my home PC and
run those, when I work from home.

What are the consequnces of closing these ports? My PC is behind a NAT
router. Is this even an issue? When I did internet security vulnerability
test at http://www.grc.com, it gave my PC a clean chit of security.

Thanks.

Blaggard


Last edited by blaggard on Fri May 28, 2004 1:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2004 9:04 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
You should filter port 6000 at your firewall. You should NOT set your DISPLAY or xhost, but just slogin to a box then run an application. slogin by default will also forward x11 connections, via port 22, encrypted.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:NMAP Port Scan
PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 1:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 3:42 pm
Posts: 129
Location: 'Burbs of the Windy City
Thanks, Jeff.

I set up Firestarter to filter the port 6000 also. Now both ports 111 & 6000
are filtered.

I use ssh to login to work, so what I stated in my posting was incorrect.
SSH takes care of setting the display. Sorry for the confusion.

Dumb Question 1: I occasionally use another Doze PC to login to work via VPN,
set DISPLAY to home PC, run some X apps. If I do this filtering on the router, will
it be a problem?

Dumb Question 2: What firewall would you recommend? Firestarter or
something else?

Thanks.

Blaggard


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2004 11:24 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
1) not sure. Test it. :)

2) The kernel's iptables is what's doing the filtering. Firestarter & things like that are just GUIs to help write rule sets. So whatever one you like you can use.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group