BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 7:57 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 8:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 6:08 pm
Posts: 108
Location: Oakland, CA, U$A, Earth, Milky Way
Weird, now the md5sum is correct after failing with the exact same checksum the three previous times I'd tried it over the last day or two. I had stopped sharing the file with ctorrent prepartory to deleting it, and maybe that made the difference, or perhaps it just took me forever to get the last little bit of the ISO. I'd never had a problem getting a correct md5sum on a downloaded file while sharing with other bittorrent clients. Live and learn, glad I didn't 'rm' the image yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:11 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
rob.linux wrote:
Does anyone know if I can upgrade my 10K with the 30002 CD ??

Or should I do a fresh install ??


You should be able to upgrade fine.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 10:34 pm
Posts: 186
Location: Ontario, Canada
jebba wrote:
rob.linux wrote:
Does anyone know if I can upgrade my 10K with the 30002 CD ??

Or should I do a fresh install ??


You should be able to upgrade fine.

-Jeff[/quote

Thanks Jeff...I'll post the results

Rob

_________________
Registered Linux User # 342652 Mandriva One 2007 Spring


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: 10K upgrade to 30002
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 12:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 10:34 pm
Posts: 186
Location: Ontario, Canada
Upgrade went well....except.....I am no longer connected to the internet.

DEC 21041 (tulip3) NIC is recognized but ...when I click on activate ....

I get the message "different MAC address than expected, ignoring "

I've tried configuring but it grays out the option of DHCP which is what I have via a D-link router...the static IP is offered but no luck with that so far...

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong ??? It looks good otherwise and I'd like to get it working...

Rob

_________________
Registered Linux User # 342652 Mandriva One 2007 Spring


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 3:01 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
Code:
jayeola@tp20$ cat /etc/resolv.conf
; generated by /sbin/dhclient-script
nameserver 192.168.1.254

jayeola@tp20$ cat /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
DEVICE=eth0
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
ONBOOT=no
TYPE=Ethernet

Any help?

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 7:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Haven't seen that one. See if your MAC address is listed in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/* or something. You can remove it, if you only have one card.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 7:57 pm 
Thanks John and Jebba

No joy in mudville

It's now set to dhcp....but when I click to activate, the message comes up "tulip device eth0 does not seem to be present,delaying initialization"

Rob

john maclean wrote:
Code:
jayeola@tp20$ cat /etc/resolv.conf
; generated by /sbin/dhclient-script
nameserver 192.168.1.254

jayeola@tp20$ cat /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
DEVICE=eth0
BOOTPROTO=dhcp
ONBOOT=no
TYPE=Ethernet

Any help?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:12 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Try using the de4x5 driver instead of tulip. Or better de2104x. What does lsmod show?

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: drivers
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 10:34 pm
Posts: 186
Location: Ontario, Canada
jebba wrote:
Try using the de4x5 driver instead of tulip. Or better de2104x. What does lsmod show?

-Jeff


Thanks for the input but changing drivers etc is beyond my knowledge base....so ....back to 10K...

It works well on this machine, although a bit slow...

Rob

_________________
Registered Linux User # 342652 Mandriva One 2007 Spring


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:36 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Edit /etc/modprobe.conf

Anyhoo....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 2:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 1:42 am
Posts: 13
Darn. Back when I used Libranet, I was able to set the MAC address for my sis900 net card with ifconfig. I'm using BLAG30002 (happilly!) and after looking at the man page for ifconfig, I guess there's no option to do this here. Any ideas? I know it worked for me when my MAC was all zeroes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 4:24 am 
Weird, I have a pc with the same exact card sis900 and it works without any problems. Think it could be some kind of problem with upgrading and not doing a complete install from scratch?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 4:36 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Chris wrote:
Weird, I have a pc with the same exact card sis900 and it works without any problems. Think it could be some kind of problem with upgrading and not doing a complete install from scratch?


Chris, i don't think he was saying the card didn't work, he was saying he couldn't re-program the MAC address. I'm not really sure why he wants to change MAC addresses though...

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group