BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:40 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Odd install problem
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 11:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 11:05 pm
Posts: 11
Hello All,

I used Red Hat for a long time, but switched to Debian some years ago. I like the sound of Blag, so I am giving it a try. I have two disks in this box and had multiple distros on the box. All were Debian based.

I gave disk two to Blag and wanted to keep the data in /home so I had it format / and leave /home alone. Oddly, the installer set up the /etc/fstab to use Labels rather that /dev/hdb3 (as an example) rather than call the partition by name.

Well, a partition on hda is labeled /home as well as the /home on hdb !!! Now that is bad news. It took me a 30 minutes to decide that deamons from FreeBSD has not invaded my computer.

Oh well, I fixed the /etc/fstab of Blag to explicitly name the partitions and all is well. Am I the first to whine about this?

So far, the thing looks good. I like that you set up apt from the start --- that is why I am willing to leave the safety of Debian to try out the RPM world again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 11:44 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Ya, I think at around FC1 they started using Labels instead of actual partition names. It works better for moving disks around if you only have one distro installed. But if you have a bunch, it's more of a pain. You did the correct thing--just edit /etc/fstab (& maybe grub.conf).

I haven't seen others complain about this, but I've encountered it myself as the devel box has lots of blag releases installed on it. Soooo....it's probably not going to change.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 10:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 11:05 pm
Posts: 11
jebba wrote:
... I haven't seen others complain about this, but I've encountered it myself as the devel box has lots of blag releases installed on it. Soooo....it's probably not going to change.

-Jeff



Thanks. I am glad to hear it is not just me. I had no trouble with grub since booting is controlled through the main distro, Debian.

The largest problem so far is that the packages have slightly different names and are in different places in synaptic. I suppose a fellow can live with that.


Thanks again.


Regards, Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 7:46 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
joepotter wrote:
The largest problem so far is that the packages have slightly different names and are in different places in synaptic. I suppose a fellow can live with that.


Ya...again, same here. ;)

Debian's setup of apache seems whack to me, but I'm used to FC/RH or custom compiles. Its like you're in a country where you speak the just language enough.... The init.d setup is very different too--oh, and network configuration files. I prefer FC `chkconfig` but deb`s /etc/network/interfaces... Debian's installer certainly leaves something to be desired, unless you really know GNU.

Here's some RPM commands, to refresh your memory:

Code:
rpm -q streamtuner
rpm -qi streamtuner
rpm -ql streamtuner
rpm -qf `which streamtuner`


Later,

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group