BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:45 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: kde 3.4
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 2:20 am 
Hi,
Iwas wondering if it's possible to use kde 3.4 with Blag? If so what's the best way to get it?
Thanks


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 2:32 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Take a look here:
http://download.kde.org/binarydownload. ... ora3/i386/

There may be some other KDE/FC3 packagers out there too.

This is assuming you are running BLAG30000.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: thanks
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 5:54 am 
Hi Jebba,
I downloaded kde-base from one of the mirrors you told me about. Thanks.
I suppose that was the right one to download first?
It's an .rpm and me being pretty new here can you tell me how to install it so it comes up as an alternative wm when I log in?
I used to use Blag 10k about 6months ago but this new release 30k is wonderful.
So far I've got system sounds, streaming audio (Goon Show :-), xine playing dvd's. The scanner works. You name it, straight out of the box. I'm going to put it on my laptop now. It's a keeper and it's got character!
thanks


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 7:03 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Glad you like it. Stepping you through an install of KDE that isn't in the repo...well, that's a lot of steps...

If you're new to this, you may not want to do it, unless you want to get your hands dirty. But in sum, you can just download all the RPMS on kde.org and then `rpm -Uvh kde-XXXX.rpm` and they'll install...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: thanks
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:05 pm 
Hi Jebba,
Thanks for your help.
It worked great.
I got kde 3.4 running fine.
Regards


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Ah cool. Nice one. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:43 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Hi Jebba,
jebba wrote:
Glad you like it. Stepping you through an install of KDE that isn't in the repo...well, that's a lot of steps...

If you're new to this, you may not want to do it, unless you want to get your hands dirty. But in sum, you can just download all the RPMS on kde.org and then `rpm -Uvh kde-XXXX.rpm` and they'll install...


What is the XXXX.rpm refer to?

paul


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: kde
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 11:13 am 
What is the XXXX.rpm refer to?

Each individual package name ending in .rpm
[/quote]


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 12:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:43 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Dallas, TX USA
townson,
Thanks!
So there is not any defenit order to follow when upgradeing to kde 3.4?
Thanks,
paul 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 1:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 6:34 pm
Posts: 26
I guess some of the mirrors on kde.org don't give you everything you need to install all of the rpm's. More than a few times I was asked for the BLAG CD. I haven't done it on 30K yet but I just used Synaptic on 10K to get KDE. It seemed much less trying than hunting for dependencies. :idea: Is there a repository for KDE in 30K, Jeff?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
spongebox wrote:
I guess some of the mirrors on kde.org don't give you everything you need to install all of the rpm's. More than a few times I was asked for the BLAG CD. I haven't done it on 30K yet but I just used Synaptic on 10K to get KDE. It seemed much less trying than hunting for dependencies. :idea: Is there a repository for KDE in 30K, Jeff?


Ya, KDE is in the repo for 30k, but he wanted the bleeding edge version of KDE. Well, i'm not sure that's what he wanted, honestly, but it's what he got. ;)

You can install KDE on 30k with synaptic, but it's version 3.3.1.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2005 9:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:43 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Thanks!
I wanted 3.4 but I installed from KDE from the repository and it works just fine.
paul 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group