BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 1:33 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 9:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:05 pm
Posts: 3
Hello all!
Congratulations to the devel team (already 30K!).
Trying to put the old version working on a PII-400 MHz_64MbRAM (snip!) and I no longer remember what's the root/password to access for the first boot (in text-mode - blagblagblag.org used to have it but not anymore)
Tried to find any messages about it with no luck.
Can somebody help?

Mario :?:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 10:52 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
On some older installs, it sets it root to "blagblag", if you didn't change it on firstboot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2005 11:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:05 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks for your input.
I used it already and doesn't work; login: root, passwd: blagblag - o/p login incorrect.(!)
Also used login: blagblag; passw: blagblag....(+ other arrangements w/ blags)
Nothing happens.
Minus well get the last release.

Regards,

Mario


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 5:25 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
If you're experienced with linux you can boot from your BLAG CD, type 'linux rescue' at the prompt and when you get to a shell, edit your /etc/shadow on the mounted hard drive so that this line (usually the first one) goes from looking something like this:

root:TONSOFRANDOMSTUFFHERE:12842:0:99999:7:::

and then find your user's password line, e.g.:

felix:TONSOFRANDOMSTUFFHERE:12794:0:99999:7:::

and copy what would be in the TONSOFRANDOMSTUFFHERE from the user's line to the area where that would be in root's line. Then you can reboot and log in as root using the same password you use as your user and then change it using 'passwd'. Otherwise you'll have to find another method (reinstall is one of them)

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 5:41 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Or boot up into rescue mode, and after mounting your install (which rescue mode can do automatically) do:

Code:
chroot /mnt/sysimage
passwd


I haven't done it before, but it should work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2005 5:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:05 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks lads but I didn't even create any useradd or anything at all.
I'm trying to access the sys for the very first time and w/o GUI, I'm greeted in text-mode for login:

Anyway I'll try your fixes.

Regards,
Mario


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group