BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:56 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 1:37 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
So I decided to try out blag with my new wireless card, the SMC2802W.
I've been to prism54.org and the linux wireless how-to FAQ, but i'm still clueless on how to get it working in linux. From what i've figured out so far, I either have to recompile the kernel or use ndiswrapper. Could somebody please give me a pointer or two, I'm sort of clueless here, and not very good with linux. TIA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2004 2:35 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
For 802.11g I believe you will have to recompile (& possibly patch) your kernel if you want to use the native linux drivers. It also means you have to download the compilers & some -devel packages. This can be quite a task for someone new to linux.

The easier route would be to use ndiswrappers which comes with blag.
Your card is supported, according to:
http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/supp ... psets.html


There's docs on how to get it going at:
http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 3:09 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
Thanks again. Where is ndiswrapper located on the filesystem so that i can install the .ini?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 4:12 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
From the rpm ndiswrapper-utils.

Config:
/etc/ndiswrapper

Binaries:
/sbin/loadndisdriver
/sbin/ndiswrapper

Documentation:
/usr/share/doc/ndiswrapper-utils-0.7

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 12:20 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
Thanks yet again. I've got far enough that my card appears in the hardware area of the network, but when i try to set it up (add -> wireless) I select "Wireless Card" but when I click forward nothing happens. Any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 12:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Honestly, I don't use the buttons that much. ;) One way to just bring up an IP address on an interface is:

Code:
/sbin/ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 up


You can substitute eth0, eth1, or whatever for wlan0 if your card is different. You can find out a bit more about your card by running:

Code:
/sbin/iwconfig


Also, there are files in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts that set these things...

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2004 1:00 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
jebba wrote:
Honestly, I don't use the buttons that much. ;) One way to just bring up an IP address on an interface is:

Code:
/sbin/ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 up


You can substitute eth0, eth1, or whatever for wlan0 if your card is different. You can find out a bit more about your card by running:

Code:
/sbin/iwconfig


Also, there are files in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts that set these things (like ifcfg-eth0)...

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group