BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Wed Dec 17, 2014 7:57 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 7:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 4:03 pm
Posts: 163
will check into it again tomorrow. time for work now.

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 4:03 pm
Posts: 163
noldrin wrote:
foo = generic term to search for, mean to put xfce in it's place.

What do you mean by not showing up in sessions? In the login screen? I had the problem of finding the right package that got it in there. I should have written it down. Make sure you have:

xfwm4
xfdesktop
xfce4-session

I'll try to poke around for what I did.


just tried installing xfce on another machine of mine following your post. it's not showing up in seesions on the login windows on here either!!

edit:
now i'm on first machine i tried installing xfce on. it didn't magically appear on here either. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
I was having the same problem, finally I installed a certain package and it boom it was there... why i didn't write it down I don't know.. If I have time I'll install it on my laptop.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 4:03 pm
Posts: 163
wasn't an issue you brought up here?

i've searched on here several times. either missing it or going blind (quite possible)!

appreciate whatever you can dig up.

thanks


Last edited by saddletramp on Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 6:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
I was about to and I figured it out. I was going to write down my suggestion of a xfce-install package to simplify the process. I should have at least put it in the wiki. This is a good argument for me to get non production laptops and desktops to run things through on.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 4:03 pm
Posts: 163
you were about to and figured out what?

still can't get xfce on 2 computers. not about to try on any others for now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 8:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 10:35 pm
Posts: 54
Location: bielefeld, germany
Hi!

Try

yum groupinstall XFCE

That will install a good XFCE-Desktop, and a Session in GDM :)

_________________
using blag 50003 and using blag since 10k ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
ok.. I installed these packages and dependencies and was able to get pick XFCE from the GDM session menue:

xfce4-session
xfce4-panel
xfce4-testmanager
xfdesktop
xfce-utils
xfwm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 10:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:41 pm
Posts: 68
Location: Idaho, USA
Just to pinpoint the exact solution - the xsession file for xfce4 is in the xfce-utils package. The file in question that makes xfce show up in gdm is /usr/share/xsessions/xfce4.desktop.

Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:36 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
iron_chef wrote:
Just to pinpoint the exact solution - the xsession file for xfce4 is in the xfce-utils package. The file in question that makes xfce show up in gdm is /usr/share/xsessions/xfce4.desktop.


Very cool. Thanks for following up with this. Then I'll add:

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install xfce-utils


It does seem xfce-session would be the correct place for that file though...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 4:03 pm
Posts: 163
cool. i'll try this tomorrow.

thanks all


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 5:41 pm
Posts: 68
Location: Idaho, USA
jebba wrote:
iron_chef wrote:
Just to pinpoint the exact solution - the xsession file for xfce4 is in the xfce-utils package. The file in question that makes xfce show up in gdm is /usr/share/xsessions/xfce4.desktop.


Very cool. Thanks for following up with this. Then I'll add:

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install xfce-utils


It does seem xfce-session would be the correct place for that file though...


Yeah, I know. Not quite sure why Fedora sticks the xsession file somewhere besides xfce4-session... seems like a fairly important part of actually running an xfce session. :)

You know what would be cool? An xfce "meta-package" RPM that doesn't actually contain any files, but just Depends: on all the necessary xfce4-foo RPMs to have a complete desktop. Perhaps I'll whip up a spec file and build it... would anyone be interested in such a thing?

As an aside, I'd like to mention that I've switched to xfce4 in the last couple of weeks, and it totally rocks. I really like Thunar, it's simple, elegant, and totally blows Nautilus out of the water. I totally dig the right-click "Open Terminal here..." function.

Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 7:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 4:03 pm
Posts: 163
"As an aside, I'd like to mention that I've switched to xfce4 in the last couple of weeks, and it totally rocks. I really like Thunar, it's simple, elegant, and totally blows Nautilus out of the water. I totally dig the right-click "Open Terminal here..." function. "

yep!!
didn't have a chance today, to try again on this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 8:02 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
iron_chef wrote:
You know what would be cool? An xfce "meta-package" RPM that doesn't actually contain any files, but just Depends: on all the necessary xfce4-foo RPMs to have a complete desktop. Perhaps I'll whip up a spec file and build it... would anyone be interested in such a thing?


Put the spec in http://bugzilla.blagblagblag.org and i'll put it in the repo.

iron_chef wrote:
As an aside, I'd like to mention that I've switched to xfce4 in the last couple of weeks, and it totally rocks. I really like Thunar, it's simple, elegant, and totally blows Nautilus out of the water. I totally dig the right-click "Open Terminal here..." function.


I haven't used thunar (much?) but damn near everything blows nautilus out of the water. Kind of frustrating that it has been such a pig for so long.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
Here is a screenshot of my blag-o-fied XFCE desktop.

http://noldrin.com/xfce-blag.png

It's 69K and I haven't updated to the 70K icon files which is why the audacious icon is wrong. There seems to be a couple xfce icons that need a blag version. Perhaps I'll look into that :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group