BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 1:46 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Booting from floppy
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:03 am
Posts: 10
Location: Sollentuna, Sweden
I ve tried to install on a old Mitac (P166 MMX, 1,6 GB) laptop. The install process is stopped half-way an will not continue. I think the boot floppy is the problem not the CD. Can you check the boot floppy?
Installed on a modern AMD machine BLAG works fine and I really like the dist. There are some hickups but thats another topic.

_________________
Cars and Computers are equal. There is no patent on steering wheel or breaks as drivers tools.
No Software patents!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 10:28 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Does it get to the point where it is actually installing from the CD? If so, it's not the floppy as it has already loaded everything from floppy.

On an old machine like that, I suggest doing a very small text install. At the boot: prompt do:
linux text

Sometimes older boxes have various hardware problems. Just getting them up & running first and then installing more software will often work better.

In some cases I find it faster to install the OS with the old machine's hard drive in another computer. After the install, do the first boot on the old machine.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: boot from floppy
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 1:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:03 am
Posts: 10
Location: Sollentuna, Sweden
Thank you for your prompt answer.
Old computers are difficult.
Now i have started the laptop installation and it went on and left over to the CD. I made the check and proceeded deleting the old partitions and choosed the desktop installation.
After a while it discovered that the HD was too small. So I started to pick applications not needed. I now have left out so many objects that I doubt the dist will work. The swap partition is 100 MB and the Root? partition just over 100 MB. The "useful" partition just over 1 GB ( th HD holds 1.4 GB not 1.6 as I mentiond before).
Have you any suggestions how to minimize the installation and stil have "working" office applications, internet and email access and a picture collection (my own pictures). Is it possible with the present nice appearance?

Regards

_________________
Cars and Computers are equal. There is no patent on steering wheel or breaks as drivers tools.
No Software patents!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group