BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Tue Dec 23, 2014 2:24 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 11:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
A friend of mine has given me an old box to play with. I've tried to install both 9002 and 10k on it. Upon bootup the box seems to hang on `loading vmlinuz...`. Now i get disk error 80, AX = 4200, drive 9F`.

I think that it may be a hard drive error but it had win 98 installed on it previously. I checked that the box could install from a cd in the bios as the boot order is cdrom,a,c.

Suggestions appreciated to help revive this orphaned box.
(packard bell "club)

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 9:30 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
John,

throw a whole bunch of specs at us--I know you know how to figure them out. Then lets google and get the new blag box online!

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 1:02 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
Here is a url with all the specs:- http://www.easyinfo.co.za/htm/custom/ne ... 300xe.html

I have told all of my friends, family and wrok mates to give me their unwanted boxes. Would be gratefull if any one could outline the steps that they would do to rescue it. This is so that I can learn myself and do it for other orphan boxes and they could be blagged up. Not sure what to use them for though..... compiling kernels perhaps

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2004 5:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Have you tried booting from floppy?

A quick search on that error seems to indicate problems loading up the CD. You've probably checked the media OK, ya?

If you have anaconda-runtime installed, you can check a CD thusly:

Code:
/usr/lib/anaconda-runtime/checkisomd5 --verbose /dev/cdrom


This thread looks pretty good too:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/history/49308

They suggest tinkering with BIOS (turn off plug & play).

Does it give the error "extremely broken bios"?

Floppy boot.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group