BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sun Dec 28, 2014 3:11 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 2:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 1:51 pm
Posts: 125
Location: Bronx,NY
Well,its very fast and stable at first glance,and I remembered to set my Hard Drive settings in the BIOS to LBA,to prevent a Winbloz jackked install.Anyway,this could be a very good distro if They fixed the winbloz problem,but overall,it's stunning. I'd say it is 5X faster than BLAG 9002.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 5:17 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
What system are you running it on? (RAM, Proc, etc.) I'd just like to know so that I can compare it to my system and decide whether to upgrade or not, because my system is aging and I don't know if it can handle BLAG 19999.xxxxx/20000.

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 2:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 1:51 pm
Posts: 125
Location: Bronx,NY
stevo32 wrote:
What system are you running it on? (RAM, Proc, etc.) I'd just like to know so that I can compare it to my system and decide whether to upgrade or not, because my system is aging and I don't know if it can handle BLAG 19999.xxxxx/20000.


Well my comp is good, its a Duron 1100 with 256mb of ram.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 9:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
ok, then i guess i'd better upgrade. just 1 question. can you find most of the extra software (that you installed yourself, it didn't come with blag) that you used on Blag900x(RH9) and Blag10000(FC1) that you can find in Blag 19999.*/20000(FC2) as well?

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 9:56 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 4:45 pm
Posts: 621
Location: London
stevo32 wrote:
ok, then i guess i'd better upgrade. just 1 question. can you find most of the extra software (that you installed yourself, it didn't come with blag) that you used on Blag900x(RH9) and Blag10000(FC1) that you can find in Blag 19999.*/20000(FC2) as well?


Well when you upgrade BLAG won't update any software for you that is not found on the installation disk. You may find you can just do what I do and use apt-get dist-upgrade but if the application is not in the repository then you will need to manually update it yourself.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2004 10:49 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
i know that, but some software doesn't run on 10000 but it did run perfectly fine on 900x for me, so i just want to know anybody's personal experience getting this sorta stuff working.

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 12:32 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
stevo32 wrote:
just 1 question. can you find most of the extra software (that you installed yourself, it didn't come with blag) that you used on Blag900x(RH9) and Blag10000(FC1) that you can find in Blag 19999.*/20000(FC2) as well?


You should be able to find that stuff in dag or freshrpms. They have a FC2 repository going.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 1:30 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
stevo32 wrote:
i know that, but some software doesn't run on 10000 but it did run perfectly fine on 900x for me


What broke?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 25, 2004 2:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
VisualBoyAdvance for one, and several others which i've long since deleted because i was ticked trying to get them to work or build them from source. SDL also ended up in a mess too.

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group