BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 7:56 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: epiphany vs firefox
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:49 pm 
Site Admin

Anyone used epiphany lately? Any thoughts?

A number of people on fedora-devel have said to hell with FF, epiphany is actually quite nice. And it's smaller on disk, so I think that's neat.

I'm going to start test driving it to see how it fares...Check it out. :)

-Jeff

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 1:31 am 
Jebba,
I'm fairly new to Blag (a Fedora-based distro) but under Ubuntu you needed Firefox in your system before you could even install Epiphany. Is it the same under Fedora? Also, Epiphany doesn't have near the extensions available as Firefox.

You might want to check out..

http://www.gnu.org/software/gnuzilla/

about a browser called Iceweasel (a Firefox clone).

P.S.
When do you anticipate the next release for Blag?

Post subject: Re: epiphany vs firefox
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 1:50 am 

jebba wrote:
Anyone used epiphany lately? Any thoughts?

A number of people on fedora-devel have said to hell with FF, epiphany is actually quite nice. And it's smaller on disk, so I think that's neat.

I'm going to start test driving it to see how it fares...Check it out. :)

-Jeff

hmm... i hope theres gonna be a flash / java /mplayer plugin support for epipany :) its a funny name by the way :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 2:09 am 

Trespasser wrote:

Iceweasel is Firefox on debian. They basically compile Firefox without the trademarked images and name.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 1:01 pm 

I've installed all the Epiphany stuff this morning, will play with it a bit, and post my feedback...

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:18 pm 
noldrin wrote:
Trespasser wrote:

Iceweasel is Firefox on debian. They basically compile Firefox without the trademarked images and name.