BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 4:33 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: successful WEP wireless
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 7:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
I managed to get wireless working with ndis wrapper, and could connect to unsecured and wpa networks, but WEP was still not usable to me, and 2 of my main points were WEP. So I tried replacing Networkmanager with WICD and now I'm connected with WEP.

http://wicd.net/wiki/doku.php?id=fedora
http://wicd.sourceforge.net/

WICD is gpl and gnome free so it's great for other window managers. I installed the rpm, unenabled network manager, from the session manager and services, added the /opt/wicd/tray.py to session and enabled wicd in services, restarted gnome and was basically on my way. At first it was halting on obtaining an IP address, but i opened up the wireless manager, and told it to do WEP and entered the password, set the wpa supplicant driver to wext and it's gravy. Going to do more testing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 9:12 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
Why are you using wpa supplicant to do WEP?

You should be able to simply do:
Code:
iwconfig wlan0 enc key


Which doesn't require wpa_supplicant.

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 9:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
perhaps the wpa_supplicant isn't doing anything and it just took a couple tries to get it going, or it needed to be properly ignored, I don't know. I just know it works and it states while doing so that it's generating the wpa configuration file.

That command doesn't seem to be doing anything, it's not connecting me to the wireless.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 4:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
Read the iwconfig manpage, it explains it in detail.

On my old laptop, I did something like:
Code:
iwconfig eth1 essid APESSID key s:WIRELESSKEY channel 1
dhclient eth1


Thanks,
Stephen Clement

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 1:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
Thanks! My goal is to be able to do all my laptop stuff from the command line.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group