BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 1:26 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 4:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
How does it fail. Does it fail when asking for IP address or fail to connect at all?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
noldrin wrote:
How does it fail. Does it fail when asking for IP address or fail to connect at all?


The former - dhclient eventually times out with a "no available leases" error. I can grab the output and post it here when I'm home later tonight.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
Same things happens to me with standard BLAG, 30K, and 70K, two different network cards. I've done this WICD and command line.

I think their is something fishy with the router. I can connect to some other WEP networks fine. The problem router is a netgear. The only suggestion I've heard was maybe it's using WINS, but nothing is backing that theory up yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 7:01 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
WPA isn't working yet, but i'm not sure if the problem is in the kernel, wicd or what. `/etc/init.d/wpa_supplicant` needs to be started (is by default i think).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 7:11 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Ah, also talk to the guys at #wicd on irc.freenode.net. They have been very responsive and nice.

Side notes:
Whenever I go into a new #channel, i wonder if i'm going to get blasted (ala unfriendly #openbsd) or if it's going to be nice. The #wicd channel is nice, so you can ask questions there.

I was blasted in #openbox when I was trying to figure out why the autogenerated python submenu script that I had grabbed from the 'net wasn't working. One main #openbox dev called me incompetent (twice) within the first few minutes of the issue... Anyway, it turns out that openbox barfs on menu items such as "Sound & Video"--the XML parser dies on the "&" sign. Pfft. Anyway, openbox left a bad taste in my mouth, due to that. It's nice to have a GOOD forum to go to discuss things. I don't like going into forums feeling I can't ask questions. Anyway, jaromil has been talking about us getting rid of openbox since it uses XML (this said before the above issue). I think he's kind of bikeshedding, but perhaps we can find a window manager with friendlier devs.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Confession: I posted this to the eeeuser.com forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 4:10 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
extraspecialbitter wrote:
Confession: I posted this to the eeeuser.com forum.


Thanks. I added FREEEEE info to their wiki too:

http://wiki.eeeuser.com/overview.html

It is pretty much "the" site for eee info.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: viva potassium!
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 1:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Code:
[root@eeyore ~]# uname -r
2.6.26.5-43.libre1.rt9.freeeee.i686
[root@eeyore ~]# cat /etc/freeeee-release
FREEEEE release 0.7.7 (potassium)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 1:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 4:39 pm
Posts: 220
Location: xerta, españa
this thread is becoming very unwieldy.i propose we close it and start new threads within the development forum [perhaps with a freeee prefix for easy eye recognition /searching] as freeeee issues become apparent. we could even go as far as having a a freeeee forum of its own, but i don't feel the traffic warrants it yet.

r7 [1st post from my eeepc 900 btw...]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 12, 2008 5:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
r7 wrote:
this thread is becoming very unwieldy.i propose we close it and start new threads within the development forum [perhaps with a freeee prefix for easy eye recognition /searching] as freeeee issues become apparent. we could even go as far as having a a freeeee forum of its own, but i don't feel the traffic warrants it yet.

r7 [1st post from my eeepc 900 btw...]


I like the idea of breaking out subforums under the "development" heading - perhaps freeeee and BLAGHEAD?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 8:40 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
extraspecialbitter wrote:
r7 wrote:
this thread is becoming very unwieldy.i propose we close it and start new threads within the development forum [perhaps with a freeee prefix for easy eye recognition /searching] as freeeee issues become apparent. we could even go as far as having a a freeeee forum of its own, but i don't feel the traffic warrants it yet.

r7 [1st post from my eeepc 900 btw...]


I like the idea of breaking out subforums under the "development" heading - perhaps freeeee and BLAGHEAD?


i think a separate freeeee list which could have a lot of the traffic now being sent to blag-noise and then mails back & forth to the forum like -users does would be good. Maybe in a week or two. I'll see if jaromil will put one on dyne perhaps.

A separate forum for blaghead i think would be a bit much, cuz in theory, blaghead should be a lot of the development. It has been a bit neglected as i've been setting up freeeee, but i use blaghead on my main machine all the time greatly abusing it (hundreds of tabs/windows in firefox, video, mail, zillion terms, etc), and it is working at least hah. I have a hard time keeping up with all it's changes cuz i'm usually at 100% full and keep the repo on a usb pen drive.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 2:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
I've been neglecting BLAGHEAD myself, dividing my time between 90001 and freeeee. Last week I tried doing a "yum update" on my BLAGHEAD partition and ran into lots of dependency errors. I'm suspecting that this is because my last update - from at least 3 months ago or more - was done using apt-get instead of yum. /me thinks I should probably just start from scratch.

On that topic, IIRC there is no iso for BLAGHEAD. Is the preferred method still to install 90001, modify the repos in /etc/yum.repos.d/blag.repo and do a "yum upgrade"?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 05, 2008 5:14 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
http://ks355011.kimsufi.com/media/movie ... ooovie.ogg

A short movie made on the eee 900 within the live environment.

Some screenshots for those that cannot play the off file
http://ks355011.kimsufi.com/media/ss/eee900/freeeee/

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group