BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 3:25 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Networking Question?
PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 4:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:43 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Hi,
I have to share broadband between 2 computers with an A-B switch. After sharing the broadband connection with my B machine my Blag machine loses broadband and times out.

What is the CLI command to restart the network connection without having to do a total re-boot into Blag?

Thanks for the reply,
Paul 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Networking Question?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 7:19 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
qa1433 wrote:
What is the CLI command to restart the network connection without having to do a total re-boot into Blag?


Code:
/sbin/service network restart


I've noticed with some broadband connections the cable/dsl modem needs to be rebooted as the ISP tracks MAC addresses for DHCP.

Also, you can share your connection with NAT, if you have a hub or dual ethernet in one of the cards. Here's my "nat-on" script:

Code:
#!/bin/sh

# insert masquerade module
modprobe ipt_MASQUERADE

# flush old rules
iptables -F
iptables -t nat -F
iptables -t mangle -F

# turn on NAT
iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE

# forward IPs
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward


Where eth0 is the ethernet connection to the internet.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2004 12:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 10:43 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Hi Jeff,
Thanks for the reply.
I am using a LinkSys cable router located in my wifes office downstairs. My upstairs office has 3 computers. I am going to have to get off my lazy ass after the hoilidays and do 2 more runs from the downstairs office to my upstairs office. I just hate that! I might fall thru the ceilling. I am getting to old for those kinds of injury and pain:lol: However, I just might buy a little hub and do the NAT script you suggested.

Again, thanks for the help. You have a very very nice distro here. I can't wait for 3000. :P

paul 8)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group