BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 8:04 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Will Blag work for me?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:27 am
Posts: 8
I am wondering if Blag will work for my computer. I have a 5050 Acer Aspier laptop with wifi. If I install blag by defult will wifi automaticly pick up? My wirless card is bcm4318 brodcom

Also, would my sound work.. My sound is Realtek HD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Sound will probably work, broadcom wifi won't. More info here:

http://www.linux-on-laptops.com/acer.html

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:13 pm
Posts: 29
I've got a 5050 Acer Aspire... Not installed BLAG on it yet but mine has Atheros wifi... which I believe should work with madwifi drivers?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:09 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
The ath5k drivers work with some atheros chipsets and ath5k is free. Madwifiis not free.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 11:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:27 am
Posts: 8
So there's no way my brodcom chip would work..?

And could you direct me to a linux that would support my wifi..
I am using ubuntu and it supports it..but I'd perfer to use another linux.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
gator wrote:
So there's no way my brodcom chip would work..?

And could you direct me to a linux that would support my wifi..
I am using ubuntu and it supports it..but I'd perfer to use another linux.


The broadcom chip doesn't work with free software.

http://www.fsf.org/licensing/essays/free-sw.html

If it works with ubuntu, it is because they include non-free software.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 4:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 3:07 am
Posts: 699
If you have the non-free windows driver, you can use tools that come with BLAG (fwcutter or ndiswrapper) to make use of it for connecting. But doing so is out of the scope of these forums. The topic has been dealt with on other forums across the internet though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 1:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
I guess what we're saying is that it is technically possible to run BLAG on a laptop using this wireless card, but that Broadcom hasn't seen fit to make its source code available to developers - therefore users are forced to use non-free drivers in order to get it working. The Fedora Forum has a good how-to on the topic at http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=115572&highlight=bcm43, and there are many other write-ups available on the web.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group