BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 3:11 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 8:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 11:02 am
Posts: 277
Location: Basque Country/Euskal Herria
hi, hope i can post alpha stuff in this forum..

i thought i'd have a go with 90k alpha, using BLAG-89999.22222-i386.iso.

my monitor (acer al1913 lcd) goes black during the graphical install - "input not supported". i could've done a text install, but i ran linux boot resolution=1024x768, and that did the trick.

the problem is now, after the first reboot, the monitor goes black again (presumably when blag firstboot is run), so i can't set up users, etc.
all i can do is hit ctrl+alt+backspace, and log in as user 'root' from the graphical chooser.
i can use the root account in X at 1280 resolution, the monitor can handle that ok, i don't know why it won't display the firstboot screens though.

is there a way to force firstboot to use a different resolution?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 10:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Each time I've installed 89K - whether from CD or by updating from 70K - I've had a similar problem. In my case, rather than a black screen, X attempts to start but fails, dropping me into level 3. I've been able to fix this by hand-editing /etc/X11/xorg.conf and changing the "Driver" to "intel". "startx" will verify whether or not the change worked.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 7:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 11:02 am
Posts: 277
Location: Basque Country/Euskal Herria
i'm getting into X ok with the "nv" driver. i'm not sure is firstboot needs to run or not though, as i can create users via the root account instead. but what if i haven't agreed to the preamble in the GNU?! will stallman come and get me?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 5:52 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
Try hitting the ctrl-alt-keypad minus key (has to be minus on the keypad!) and hopefully you'll be able to switch modes in such a way that you'll be able to see something. Hit it repeatedly to change modes (it'll eventually cycle through them all and back to your original mode).

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 6:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 11:02 am
Posts: 277
Location: Basque Country/Euskal Herria
good tip steveo, thanks.

as it happens, i'm back to 70k - i think 90 was a bit to young for me. i had problems with just about everything - look forward to trying it a little bit further down the line though!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group