BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:26 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 11:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 11:05 am
Posts: 7
Hi, im new to linux, just installed blag 90k on my laptop but im having trouble doing anything as i cannot connect to the internet! my only available connection is wireless and i have a Netgear Rangemax WN511b adapter. I really need help getting this set up so i can install packages and sort out other issues (see ntfs issues posted earlier!). I know i need the b43-fcutter tool but im not sure how to install it without the internet. can anyone help? Thanks in advance


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 12:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:15 am
Posts: 125
Location: Western Australia
You don't have an ethernet port you can jack into?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 1:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 11:05 am
Posts: 7
i do have an ethernet port on my laptop but im just as clueless as to what to do with it? The computer im using at the moment is using a Speedtouch USB ASDL PPP connection to Wanadoo broadband but it is not my connection. is it possible to temporarily use that to sort out wireless? will it require alot of setting up?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 1:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
Plug your ethernet wire into your laptop. You should get an orange and green light flashing to signify that the lappy is getting some signals from the router/modem. You can then type /sbin/ifconfig in a terminal and show us the results.

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 2:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 11:05 am
Posts: 7
I was a little confused by your suggestion: The internet connection im using has a connection from the phone line to the modem and then a usb connection from modem into the computer.

On my laptop I tried connecting a seperate ethernet cable straight to the phone line and also plugging in the usb connection to the modem. Heres what it gave me with either connection:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0F:1F:B9:44:C4
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
Interrupt:19 Base address:0x1800

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:3370 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:3370 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:186516 (182.1 KiB) TX bytes:186516 (182.1 KiB)

Hope that helps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:20 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
Looks like your wireless card unfortunately has a broadcom chipset. This will make things difficult, unfortunately.

You'll need to install the ndiswrapper package on your laptop and install the windows drivers for your laptop using that.

See http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/joom ... Itemid,33/

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2008 11:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 11:05 pm
Posts: 286
[quote="JacobNottingham"]Speedtouch USB ASDL PPP connection to Wanadoo[/quote]

depending on the model of Speedtouch you might just need a regular ethernet cable like the guys already suggested above, connecting your modem and the puter. USB based ppoe connection via linux is a pain in the neck to setup. struggle a little with ndiswrapper, this will be easier then usb route.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 11:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 11:05 am
Posts: 7
Ok thanks for the help, this ndiswrapper looks like what i need however, when i run make distclean during installation i get this error:

Makefile:23: *** Kernel tree not found please set KBUILD to configured Kernel. Stop.
make [1]: Leaving directory '/ndiswrapper-1.53/driver'
make: *** [clean] Error 2

Any ideas why?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 2:15 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
punting to slaveware as it looks like ndiswrapper thread now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 9:23 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
Don't build it as they explain it on their site, get it prebuilt from http://sulphur.freshrpms.net/

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group