BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 7:31 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 7:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:19 am
Posts: 84
My BLAG 90001 has been installed in the LVM format, which I believe is the default arrangment.

When the HD began to fill up, I decided to try and exploit the LVM concept and plug in a 2nd HD and roll it into the existing VolGroup. It seemed so easy, three commands and it was done, sdb became part of the VolGroup00 (VolGroup01 is a 2gb swap partn. on sda). I managed to transfer files to it

However, after a reboot, the system no longer starts and drops into the following:

Code:
Error of GRUB: Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported....


Tried googling (http://dailypackage.fedorabook.com/inde ... -Mode.html) but am a bit clueless..

Couldn't see any home dir when using rescue mode from the cd..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 1:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
What do you see when you type "fdisk -l" from the rescue CD? IIRC, the default LVM configuration includes a /boot partition, which seems to be what's amiss.

Now that I think of it, you may need to use LVM commands in order to see the logical volumes. If "fdisk -l" doesn't turn up anything, try "vgscan" followed by "vgchange -a y"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:19 am
Posts: 84
results shown are a bit...chopped

Code:
fdisk -l

Device    Boot   Blocks   System
--------------------------------
/dev/sda1  *    200781    Linux
/dev/sda2       79835017+ Linux LVM
/dev/sdb1  *    244188000 Linux
--------------------------------
/dev/dm-0 (328 GB) doesn't contain a valid partition table
/dev/dm-1 (2080 MB) doesn't contain a valid partition table


I ran the LVM commands already. My results were the same as the site linked in the first post. I followed the site up to 'e2fsck' command:
Code:
e2fsck 1.40.8 (13-Mar-2008)
Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes
Pass 2: Checking directory structure
Pass 3: Checking directory connectivity
Pass 4: Checking refernce counts
Pass 5: Checking group summary information
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00: 107651/20070400 files (2.2% non-contiguous), 19552229/80257024 block


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 11:04 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
jisis wrote:
I ran the LVM commands already. My results were the same as the site linked in the first post. I followed the site up to 'e2fsck' command:
Code:
e2fsck 1.40.8 (13-Mar-2008)
Pass 1: Checking inodes, blocks, and sizes
Pass 2: Checking directory structure
Pass 3: Checking directory connectivity
Pass 4: Checking refernce counts
Pass 5: Checking group summary information
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00: 107651/20070400 files (2.2% non-contiguous), 19552229/80257024 block


I havent followed the other part of the thread but this shows that a filesystem check completed OK happily.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 2:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:19 am
Posts: 84
yep, check ran ok. I can mount the Logical Volume in Rescue Mode, and see my files.

However, not sure where to go next - look for grub.conf? It certainly was not in /etc or /boot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 5:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
I'm going to guess that /dev/sda1 is your /boot partition. Are you able to mount it and examine its contents? Are either of the /dev/sda partitions intact?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 11:06 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
I use lvm on this laptop. This file dictates what gets mounted at boot time.
Code:
 cat /etc/fstab
LABEL=/1                /                       ext3    defaults        1 1
LABEL=/home1            /home                   ext3    defaults        1 2
LABEL=/boot1            /boot                   ext3    defaults        1 2
tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
LABEL=SWAP-sda2         swap                    swap    defaults        0 0


and these are the mounted partitions;
Code:
 df
Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3              7360640   2987044   3993660  43% /
/dev/sda5             60588984   4177380  53284152   8% /home
/dev/sda1                93307     17463     71027  20% /boot
tmpfs                   513220         0    513220   0% /dev/shm


I'm running 70k and my "grub" file is is in /boot/grub/menu.lst. So I'm thinking that you mount that system and look for /etc/fstab and possibly print it here.

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:19 am
Posts: 84
Code:
catfstab
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00/   /      ext3   defaults 1 1
UUID=............      /boot      ext3   defaults 1 2
tmpfs            /dev/shm   tmpfs   defaults 0 0
devpts            /dev/pts   devpts   gid=5,mode=620 0 0
sysfs            /sys      sysfs   defaults 0 0
proc            /proc      proc   defaults 0 0
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol001   swap      swap   defaults 0 0


I've omitted the actual UID on the /boot line


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:01 pm
Posts: 509
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Assuming that you're running a live distro in a "rescue" mode, are you able to do any of the following?

Code:
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt
cd /mnt
ls -l grub


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:19 am
Posts: 84
yep, already tried that
Code:
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1/
mount: unknown filesystem type 'lvm2pv'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 5:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
john maclean wrote:
I'm running 70k and my "grub" file is is in /boot/grub/menu.lst.


FWIW grub is /boot/grub/grub.conf in BLAG, menu.lst is debian.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:19 am
Posts: 84
mounting LogVol00, there is nothing in /boot

grub.conf in /etc appears to be full of 'tilds' and nothing else.

can I try writing grub.conf?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:40 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
jisis wrote:
mounting LogVol00, there is nothing in /boot

grub.conf in /etc appears to be full of 'tilds' and nothing else.

can I try writing grub.conf?


The grub in /etc is a symbolic link to the one in /boot/grub/grub.conf


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 2:48 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:17 pm
Posts: 1340
Location: London, UK
jisis wrote:
results shown are a bit...chopped

Code:
fdisk -l

Device    Boot   Blocks   System
--------------------------------
/dev/sda1  *    200781    Linux
/dev/sda2       79835017+ Linux LVM
/dev/sdb1  *    244188000 Linux

Huh? That looks like you have two bootable partitions. One for the "live cd" (sda1) and one for the stuff that you have mounted, (the disk) . Can you mount /dev/sdb1?

jebba - grub, my bad!

_________________
BLAG 'em up!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 12:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:19 am
Posts: 84
yep, I used FDISK to toggle off the boot designation against sdb1, but it made no difference to the issue.

Yep, sry, I thought the grub symbolic link was vice versa.

Shall I just get all my files off and start from scratch?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group