BLAG Forums
It is currently Thu Nov 26, 2015 11:13 pm

All times are UTC

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:50 pm 

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 11:08 pm
Posts: 83
Location: LOWMEM
Hi All,

While gnome works normally, my virtual terminals (CRTL-ALT F1-6) are showing up corrupt and unresponsive screens, display is inverted grey and coloured boxes (sometimes flashing bits) which reminds me a lot of when my Sinclair ZX81 used to crash from a dodgy for/next loop in pacman (happened a lot).

When I switch to the VTs looking like this, sound from mplayer inside gnome goes silent, but other tasks such as uploads/downloads/apache/logins go on normally.

On some VTs there looks like a cursor but although it responds to keystrokes it does respond as a normal VT prompt should.

Using CTRL-ALT-F7 does not resume the X11 terminal, however using ALT-RIGHT repeatedly seems to cycle through the messed up VTs, eventually reaching F7 and X11 resumes.

Fresh install of 9001. Any ideas?

[root@eff ~]# uname -a
Linux eff #1 SMP Thu Jul 17 00:09:46 EDT 2008 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

Thinkpad X60s, 90001, gnome.


[root@eff ~]# cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
# Xorg configuration created by pyxf86config

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "Default Layout"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"

Section "InputDevice"
# keyboard added by rhpxl
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option       "XkbModel" "pc105"
   Option       "XkbLayout" "gb"

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Videocard0"
   Driver      "intel"

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Videocard0"
   DefaultDepth     24

   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24

   #this is for the external monitor on the tpad
   #SubSection "Display"
   #  Depth     16
   #  Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"  "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1280x960"
   #   Virtual 2624 1968
   # adjust resolution from command with:  xrandr --output VGA --right-of LVDS
   # xrandr --output VGA --off
   # xrandr --output VGA --mode 1600x1200


 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 8:08 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 9:54 pm
Posts: 194
kazim wrote
Fresh install of 9001. Any ideas?

Is this a fresh install from CD or net install/upgrade?

If it was a net install it is possible that there were failures and missing files, try using yum to reinstall gnome and xorg then set the run level to 5 and reboot. That is if you did a net install as for a CD fresh install I did not have any issues so it is possible that you have a corrupted installation media, burn a fresh CD and reinstall.

If it hurts it's because you're alive.

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group