BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 8:55 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 5:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:15 am
Posts: 125
Location: Western Australia
I have an Acer Aspire 3610 laptop, and most other distros i have tried on it have run brilliantly, including Gnewsense, with everything working, even the Atheros wireless (well, the internal modem doesn't, but that's not surprising, so no matter). I decided to try my old fave Blag on it (90001), but after install, the touchpad seems unresponsive, making it quite difficult to navigate, or activate anything. In short, why? What do I need to do? I was expecting similar situation to Gnewsense, but it feels a bit of a letdown, with being unable to actually "do" anything once installed. Could someone provide some assistance please? I would prefer this, but if can't do, will fall back on Gnewsense or Debian (both have proven themselves well).

Many thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 9:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:45 am
Posts: 550
Location: Guadeloupe (French W. Indies)
Is the package "xorg-x11-drv-synaptics" installed? If not install it. And try to install gsynaptics. It permit to configure the touchpad.
I have no problem with my laptops (dell inspiron 1501 and lenovo ideapad s10); touchpad works out of the box.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 5:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:15 am
Posts: 125
Location: Western Australia
How can I do this without being able to select things (double-tapping with the touch pad)? Forgive me if this should be obvious, but getting used to using a laptop, and this is not something I seem able to work around, i must be missing something. How can I do this please?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 12:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
Are you completely unable to tap to click?

If so, see this: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=439386

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 12:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 1:45 am
Posts: 550
Location: Guadeloupe (French W. Indies)
The only thing I see, is: plug a mouse and try to do what I said before. If it is impossible I don't know how to resolve that for now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 1:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:15 am
Posts: 125
Location: Western Australia
stevo32: yes, completely unable, which is why i find it so frustrating.

Junichirô: I will see if can find a usb mouse somewhere, I use ps2 still on my desktop. Thank you for your suggestions, I do appreciate the help/suggestions so far. Such a minor detail, but so damn annoying. Will see what i can find, and try to install as you suggested. Thanks..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 10:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 4:16 pm
Posts: 84
Adding the following to xorg.conf solved it for me:
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
InputDevice    "Synaptics" "CorePointer"

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Synaptics"
   Driver      "synaptics"
   Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto-dev"
   Option       "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
   Option      "SendCoreEvents"
        Option      "TapButton1" "1"
        Option      "TapButton2" "2"
        Option      "TapButton3" "3"
        Option      "SHMConfig" "on"
EndSection


AFAIK, the problem comes from removed functionality in the upstream package.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 1:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:15 am
Posts: 125
Location: Western Australia
veganix wrote:
Adding the following to xorg.conf solved it for me:
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
InputDevice    "Synaptics" "CorePointer"

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Synaptics"
   Driver      "synaptics"
   Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto-dev"
   Option       "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
   Option      "SendCoreEvents"
        Option      "TapButton1" "1"
        Option      "TapButton2" "2"
        Option      "TapButton3" "3"
        Option      "SHMConfig" "on"
EndSection


AFAIK, the problem comes from removed functionality in the upstream package.


Thank you for the heads up. Will try this once i get my laptop back (left it at work:P) and try a reinstall. Much appreciated. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2009 5:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:15 am
Posts: 125
Location: Western Australia
Interesting. Plugged i USB mouse i went and got, ran install, changed repo mirror, did full update, reboot, and now everything is fine. Odd. But good. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: why removed ?
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2009 3:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:05 pm
Posts: 2
veganix wrote:
Adding the following to xorg.conf solved it for me:
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
InputDevice    "Synaptics" "CorePointer"

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Synaptics"
   Driver      "synaptics"
   Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto-dev"
   Option       "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
   Option      "SendCoreEvents"
        Option      "TapButton1" "1"
        Option      "TapButton2" "2"
        Option      "TapButton3" "3"
        Option      "SHMConfig" "on"
EndSection


AFAIK, the problem comes from removed functionality in the upstream package.


Why would this have been removed ( since clearly it has affected a user negatively already ) and if its not user error, should we be petitioning them to add it back for users that have this hardware ( if Im understanding the problem correctly ) ?

thx
nl


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 1:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 4:16 pm
Posts: 84
Think it's solved in later synaptics pkg, which is why it worked for Saint of Killers after update. Remember struggling with this around the time of 90K Alpha. Found the solution at some fedora forum, where it was claimed that tapping was removed by an upstream maintainer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: works to me too
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 9:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 10:41 pm
Posts: 92
Location: Mesoamerica
veganix wrote:
Adding the following to xorg.conf solved it for me:
Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
InputDevice    "Synaptics" "CorePointer"

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Synaptics"
   Driver      "synaptics"
   Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto-dev"
   Option       "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
   Option      "SendCoreEvents"
        Option      "TapButton1" "1"
        Option      "TapButton2" "2"
        Option      "TapButton3" "3"
        Option      "SHMConfig" "on"
EndSection


AFAIK, the problem comes from removed functionality in the upstream package.


this solution works great to me too, thanx


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group