BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 3:15 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: greetings and question
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 10:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:57 pm
Posts: 11
Location: tel aviv , israel
hello there!
as a complete noob and after trying a few distros i feel like i finnaly found the distro for me.
blag is just wonderfull ,fast ,smooth and working great .the artwork is beautifull and even the hebrew language support is working fine (which is not so common in other distros i tried) so i feel like saying thank you and keep up with the good work
now for the question- i've got a sis 7012 sound card which wasn't detected at first and just after installling alsa and running alsaconf i managed to get my sound working, the problem is that the alsaconf doesnt modify etc /modules.conf and i have to run it every time i boot to get my sound work.
alsa detects snd-intel8x0 as my sound module, how can i modify my system to detect it at boot without having to run alsaconf over and over again?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 03, 2005 11:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 9:09 pm
Posts: 72
Location: chicago
I know zilch about sound configuration but have you tried running update-modules (as root) after getting sound working with alsaconf? This resolved a related modules.conf issue for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 12:27 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Try adding this to /etc/modules.conf

Code:
alias char-major-116 snd
alias snd-card-0 snd-card-intel8x0
alias char-major-14 soundcore
alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 11:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:57 pm
Posts: 11
Location: tel aviv , israel
well i've added this lines to etc /modules.conf but after rebooting i got my volume control disabled (a red line over the icon) and when i click on it i get error-could not open mixer device /dev/sound/mixer.
about running update-modules i tried doing that but didnt get any results,maybe i did it wrong... what is the specific command for running update-modules ,is it apt-get?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 5:30 am 
Have you run alsamixer from the command line to make sure your volume levels aren't muted on the sis device?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 05, 2005 5:53 pm 
yes i did run alsamixer , this doesnt seem to be the problem


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 3:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 2:42 am
Posts: 223
Location: Charleston, SC USA
1) run alsaconf -- if it finds your sound card, you're in luck -- skip to step (4)
2) add the following line to /etc/modules.conf:
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
3) run alsaconf -- it should find the sound card this time
4) run alsamixer -- adjust your volumes to something you can hear (on some systems, by default, the volumes are set to zero) -- hint: To quit alsamixer, type Alt-Q.
5) run alsactl store -- this stores your volume settings, so you don't have to run alsamixer again the next time you boot
6) optional: To get certain features running, you may need to configure an .asoundrc file -- see http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-do...p/asoundrc.php3 and http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-do...module=intel8x0 for more information.

I hope this helps. Good luck!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 9:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:57 pm
Posts: 11
Location: tel aviv , israel
well i followed the steps but nothing....
maybe im doing somethig wrong......
any way thanks for the try


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2005 11:23 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
what does this give you:

Code:
/sbin/lsmod


You should see a bunch of alsa/snd stuff there.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2005 5:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:57 pm
Posts: 11
Location: tel aviv , israel
sorry jebba i cant really give an answer for that right now.
i tried to install the ccrma kernel which comes with alsa and with some other capebilities but i messed up my box -blag doesnt boot any more just windows....,for some reason i cant find my rescue disk :? so i guess im going to do a fresh installation of 10k and then come back again with an answer.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 6:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 4:45 pm
Posts: 621
Location: London
You can create a Linux bootdisk in Windows. Just pop in the BLAG CD and use the bootdisk directory.



Open the Command Prompt under Windows: Start | Programs | Command Prompt


C:\> d:
D:\> cd \dosutils
D:\dosutils> rawrite
Enter disk image source file name: ..\images\boot.img
Enter target diskette drive: a:
Please insert a formatted diskette into drive A: and press --ENTER-- :

D:\dosutils>



Source: http://www.linux.com/guides/solrhe/Secu ... ec11.shtml


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 10:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:57 pm
Posts: 11
Location: tel aviv , israel
well im blaging again,thanks for the advice jason but i read it a bit to late...
anyway i made a fresh 10k install then installed alsa again,same problem occured again.
after doing some research over the web i suspect the problem is that the free oss modules are loading at startup and stoping alsa from loading.what i didnt manage to understand is how to stop them from loading at startup,any advice?
thank u
ran


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 10:33 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Find out what the oss modules are and remove them from /etc/modules.conf


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 10:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:57 pm
Posts: 11
Location: tel aviv , israel
dont find any,this is my /etc /modules.conf
alias eth0 sis900
alias usb-controller usb-ohci
alias usb-controller1 ehci-hcd
alias ieee1394-controller ohci1394

# --- BEGIN: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---
# --- ALSACONF verion 1.0.4 ---
alias char-major-116 snd
alias char-major-14 soundcore
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
alias sound-slot-0 snd-intel8x0
# --- END: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2005 10:56 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Huh. What does /sbin/lsmod show?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group