BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 7:37 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: gnome-terminal slow...
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 7:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 19
Location: Vaasa, Finland
I just installed 29k. Now I have problems with speed. Gnome-terminal starts extremely slow and when I start gnome, the splash screen is on for about one minute. Other applications seem to start at normal speed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 9:16 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Can you run `top` to see what is taking most CPU? I haven't seen this.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 10:28 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
If it is gnome-terminal that is the problem, rxvt is a great terminal that is VERY FAST. :)

Dag has it, if you want it.

10K:
ftp://rpmfind.net/linux/dag/fedora/1/en ... g.i386.rpm
20K:
ftp://rpmfind.net/linux/dag/fedora/2/en ... g.i386.rpm
30K:
ftp://rpmfind.net/linux/dag/fedora/3/en ... f.i386.rpm

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 10:34 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
It sounds like something else is going on though, than just gnome-terminal being slow. That sounds more like a symptom, ya know? rxvt is much faster though :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2005 11:18 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
Well, I know that. That's why i said "If it is gnome-terminal that is the problem"...

Anyways, yeah, i'm still definitly agreeing with you that its something running in the background/a very slow computer that is the problem.

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:48 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Also, if it was a new install, it could be that something like slocate or the prelinker was running. These normally run at 4am or so, but run soon after booting up on a new install. In other words, the problem may just disappear.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 7:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 19
Location: Vaasa, Finland
I ran top and it seemed normal. Here all that were taking any cpu.
Code:
 4162 root      15   0 84628  21m 5664 S  4.7  8.6   0:18.44 X
 4622 matti     15   0 37848  13m 9016 S  3.7  5.3   0:02.21 gnome-terminal
 4565 matti     15   0  104m  29m  16m S  1.3 11.6   0:31.44 firefox-bin
 4513 matti     16   0 29248  16m 9.8m S  0.3  6.5   0:01.39 gnome-panel


I installed rxvt and it runs fine. I also ran hdparm:
Code:
[root@7 matti]# /sbin/hdparm -t /dev/hdb

/dev/hdb:
 Timing buffered disk reads:  162 MB in  3.04 seconds =  53.30 MB/sec


I also installed kde-packages to try konsole and it is even slower than gnome-terminal. It's interesting that applications like firefox or synaptic start in a second but gnome-terminal takes a lot longer. How can that be? Is it possible that some program that both gnome-terminal and konsole use is broken or buggy?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 7:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 19
Location: Vaasa, Finland
it was a new install. So you could be right that some programs are running. I think that this is unlikely though because my computer has been open for several hours now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 8:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 19
Location: Vaasa, Finland
The problem is with gnome. I started xfce instead of gnome and gnome-terminal works just fine. I'm using xfce until this problem is solved.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 11:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 19
Location: Vaasa, Finland
I remembered that some time ago I upgraded blag 19k to fc3 and it worked just fine. I never had any problems with 19k. I decided to do that again but instead of fc3 I would use 29k. I installed 19k and am now using it. I now have the same problem that I had with 29k. Gnome doesn't work properly.

Do you have any ideas on how to figure out what is broken? It could be my hardware. Or is there a possibility that this happens because of BIOS settings. I think I haven't touched them other than changing the primary boot device when installing new operating systems. Also, it is odd that xfce and kde seem to work just fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 5:16 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
ok. ya, definitely sounds gnome related...

Try creating a new user and see if its related to your setup, somehow...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2005 9:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:34 am
Posts: 19
Location: Vaasa, Finland
Adding a new user didn't help...

I installed 29k again and I still have the same problem. I changed blag to start at runlevel 3 so that it would start a little faster because I realized that gdm is also slow. It takes a lot longer to start kde or xfce from runlevel 3 than from runlevel 5.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Reliability
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 2:14 am 
Quote:
ok. ya, definitely sounds gnome related...


Does it work all the time for you?:?


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group