BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 9:21 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: alt+SysReq
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 8:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:50 pm
Posts: 47
Location: High Peak UK
I have been told that when my box freezes and the k/board/mouse have no input
I can still reboot using an ald SysReq combination if the utility is compiled into the kernel
Can anyone tell me what this utility is and if it is already compiled into the kernel as
I have tried all combinations of keys and no input whatsoever..
I have also d/loaded and run aida which tells me I have 1mb vid adaptor memory
yet the vid card should have 64mb.....Should the vid card and adaptor memory
read the same ??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 9:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Umm, I think you have to `echo 1 > /proc/dunnowhere` to get SysRq going.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 10:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:50 pm
Posts: 47
Location: High Peak UK
jebba wrote:
Umm, I think you have to `echo 1 > /proc/dunnowhere` to get SysRq going.
..
Ta..
Is it configures in the kernel ??as so...
You need to say "yes" to 'Magic SysRq key (CONFIG_MAGIC_SYSRQ)' when
configuring the kernel. This option is only available in 2.1.x or later
kernels...
Have not it appears installed the kernel source as yet..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:17 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
It looks like default 30k kernel has it compiled in by default, but turned off. To turn it on:

Code:
echo 1 > /proc/sys/kernel/sysrq


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:50 pm
Posts: 47
Location: High Peak UK
jebba wrote:
It looks like default 30k kernel has it compiled in by default, but turned off. To turn it on:

Code:
echo 1 > /proc/sys/kernel/sysrq


Thanks for the info Will try it out on my next freeze :-(..
Will I have to enter the lines each time I boot or has it been set permanently ??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 7:52 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
You can add the line to /etc/rc.d/rc.local

Or you can put it in /etc/sysctl.conf, which is the "proper" way.

Code:
# Controls the System Request debugging functionality of the kernel
kernel.sysrq = 1


-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2005 9:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:50 pm
Posts: 47
Location: High Peak UK
jebba wrote:
You can add the line to /etc/rc.d/rc.local

Or you can put it in /etc/sysctl.conf, which is the "proper" way.

Code:
# Controls the System Request debugging functionality of the kernel
kernel.sysrq = 1


-Jeff

Thanks....Dunnit...Still waiting for the freeze...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 9:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:50 pm
Posts: 47
Location: High Peak UK
trufflesdad wrote:
jebba wrote:
You can add the line to /etc/rc.d/rc.local

Or you can put it in /etc/sysctl.conf, which is the "proper" way.

Code:
# Controls the System Request debugging functionality of the kernel
kernel.sysrq = 1


-Jeff

Thanks....Dunnit...Still waiting for the freeze...

System froze and could get no input at all from the k/board..totally dead.
The mouse pointer would move over the screen but would not call up an app
so another hard reboot..
I must say that Blag will run longer than any other distro...SuSE will not even run once the desktop comes up and Knoppix/Mepis/Ubuntu last around an hour even from a live cd...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:00 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
Sounds like you need new RAM, unfortunately.

To test this, I'd recommend you use something like Memtest86. I do believe that some LiveCD's include it (I know Gnoppix does).

Memtest86's website:
http://www.memtest86.com/

Memtest, a more up-to-date version of Memtest86:
http://www.memtest.org/

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:27 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
A memory tester is built into the blag install cd. Just boot from it, and at the "boot:" prompt type "memtest86"

It sounds like you have some hardware problems. Maybe heat related?

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:50 pm
Posts: 47
Location: High Peak UK
jebba wrote:
A memory tester is built into the blag install cd. Just boot from it, and at the "boot:" prompt type "memtest86"

It sounds like you have some hardware problems. Maybe heat related?

-Jeff


Thanks for the reply...
I ran memtest for 24 hours no problems..I ran the Mersenne Prime "Torture test"
for 24 hours no problems...I have opened up the box and although it does not feel unduly
warm I blasted another fan into it but it still froze if I deleted mails too fast...
After the last freeze I think the entry into the .etc/sysctl.conf took over as I was able to
shut the box down from the alt-sysrc o command but I could not get the r command to get
back to the k/board.....I am thinking it may be the vidcard as aida shows 1mb "vid adapter"
yet the board memory is 64 I think....I just bought a s/h graphics board so will try it later..
If I use the nvidia draver the screen is garbage yet the nv works ok...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group