BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Fri Dec 19, 2014 12:35 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 4:32 pm 
I have a successful BLAG install but Grub will not boot it without the boot disk. I'm sure it is something I have done, or not done. Any help will be much appreciated.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 6:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 2:42 am
Posts: 223
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Try this and see if this will work for you....

1>Method One - Boot from Installation CD
boot from the linux CD.
type this at the boot prompt:
linux rescue
use the ensuing rescue procedure to get to a command line, with your / mounted, say as /mnt/rescue
then say this:
chroot /mnt/rescue
now your / on your HDD is mounted as / and not /mnt/rescue (formerly, / was the root of the RAM drive your CD boot sets up.)
Now, type this:
/sbin/grub-install /dev/hda
now this
exit
exit
and reboot.
2> Method 2 - Boot from rescue floppy
once the floppy is booted, and you have logged in:
/sbin/grub-install /dev/hda
now reboot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 19, 2005 7:02 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
If, during the install, you left the grub screen to it's default settings, it should have installed grub on the MBR so it should come up at boot.

The procedure described above will work, but may be a bit complicated if you're new to GNU/Linux. You could also boot the CD again, and go through the upgrade process (it will detect your current settings). It will then allow you to re-install grub. This may be easier for you.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:42 pm 
First of all, I would like to thank you all for the very quick responses. I am very grateful. I am glad to say that, as far as I know, the problem is fixed. I did try to boot the upgrade from the disk and that did not work. I tried a couple of the listed options and nothing at all. But I kept getting this error about “could not align partition properlyâ€


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:02 am 
Welcome in the Free world....


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group