BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 11:06 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: BLAG for webhosting?
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 5:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 4:45 pm
Posts: 621
Location: London
Has anyone tried using BLAG for webhosting yet? I figure the BLAG server itself may run BLAG? I know the old one did. Anyone else tried it. I am thinking of doing it. CPanel will be needed client side and it works fine with all the Fedora releases. I want to synchronise the server on my home network (running BLAG) with the one I will use for webhosting. I heard other distros used CPanel but CPanel itself is designed for FC based distros and BLAG fits the bill. Any comments?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 6:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 4:45 pm
Posts: 621
Location: London
And here is a question. What are the chances of an upgrade from FC1 to BLAG30000? Would it work? Dependency issues aside I see no reason why it couldn't considering How little trouble I had updating BLAG10k boxes to the latest version.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 8:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Ya, I use blag as a webserver for a number of sites. It works fine and is quick to set up.

You should be able upgrade FC1 -> 30k. After the upgrade from CD, I'd recommend running these commands.

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get -f install
apt-get dist-upgrade


-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:03 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 6:08 pm
Posts: 973
Location: Canada
Just a note, DO NOT do a dist-upgrade from 10K -> 30K, do a CD upgrade if possible.

_________________
E-mail me at s.clement@localhost (replace localhost with sympatico.ca) or stevo32@localhost (replace localhost with blagblagblag.org).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 11:45 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 4:45 pm
Posts: 621
Location: London
The issue right now is the server is remotely accessed only. Anyone ever remotely upgraded an entire distro? I did once from BLAG8000 to BLAG10k. I figured now with apt-get that could only get easier. Maybe perhaps downloading the iso to the server, mounting it as a drive and then installing from that may work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:35 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
If it's remotely accessible only, it's pretty tough to do a 10k->30k dist-upgrade due to the kernel version going from 2.4 to 2.6 and the new /dev setup. It is possible though, but you'll want to practice it a bit.

That said, 10k will do fine as a webserver too. Its not necessary to have the latest & greatest. I have a 9k box serving up happily & closing in on a year uptime.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group