BLAG

BLAG Forums
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 12:16 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Blag 3k
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 7:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:50 pm
Posts: 47
Location: High Peak UK
I have upgraded both my boxes to 3k and it is great....I am trying to d/load and burn a copy of 3k for a friend...I d/load the torrent file but when I burn and test the disc ithe title is for a dvd...I run the test and it fails..This happens on both boxes...Wonder if anyone else has
had this problem.....Usually I do not bother and skip the test but as the disk was a give away I neede to be sure it was ok


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2005 11:00 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
This disk check /does/ say it's a DVD even though it's a CD. This was reported before final, but not fixed because I didn't think it was too big of a deal. :)

As for it burning correctly, check the instructions here and try it this way:

http://www.blagblagblag.org/download/

You could also try it with or without "-pad". Burn it at a /slow/ speed, if possible. Could be some bad media. Bad CDs are the #1 install problem.

-Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 9:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 12:50 pm
Posts: 47
Location: High Peak UK
jebba wrote:
This disk check /does/ say it's a DVD even though it's a CD. This was reported before final, but not fixed because I didn't think it was too big of a deal. :)

As for it burning correctly, check the instructions here and try it this way:

http://www.blagblagblag.org/download/

You could also try it with or without "-pad". Burn it at a /slow/ speed, if possible. Could be some bad media. Bad CDs are the #1 install problem.

-Jeff


Thanks for the reply...I always burn from the command line as I find it quicker..
I have tried both ways with and without -pad on both boxes and no joy....The
media is ok as I have just written Puppy Linux to it on this box and Mepis on the other..
I will copy my old blag to a cd and give that to my friend and then do an upgrade...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 9:28 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 3:17 pm
Posts: 4492
Location: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Hrumph.

Try this:

Code:
apt-get update
apt-get install anaconda-runtime
/usr/lib/anaconda-runtime/checkisomd5 BLAG-30000.iso
/usr/lib/anaconda-runtime/checkisomd5 /dev/cdrom


That passes for me. The first checkisomd5 checks the .iso file, the latter one checks the disc in you cdrom drive.

I think jason has the same problem you do. Did you do "-dao"?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 11:03 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 4:45 pm
Posts: 621
Location: London
The mdd5 of my CD was correct but it failed. I installed anyway and it was perfect. My CD passed the media test when I booted the 10k CD and then swapped to the 30k CD.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group